People, Process, Product

Jonathan Alvarado
My Next Career Adventure
3 min readNov 2, 2020

We did it again. Three years ago my wife and I decided that we were up for the excitement, challenges and inherent risks involved in the startup world. It turns out that it was one of the best and most transformative decisions of our lives.

I always say that years at a startup are like dog years — one year of experience wearing all the hats and being scrappy at a startup gives you the same amount of personal and professional growth that seven years would at an established company.

Now — 21 dog years later — I have decided to start at the beginning again with the most exciting technology startup in the construction space, Soil Connect, as Chief Growth Officer.

Soil Connect is a digital platform built by a contractor for contractors that connects those who have dirt and aggregates with those who need them. Soil Connect’s technology enables contractors to transact at shorter distances than they would typically be able to, saving time and money, as well as lowering carbon emissions.

The value Soil Connect brings to the market is significant, but before I decided to join the company, I needed to understand how it prioritized the three things I value most: people, process and product (in that order).

People
My best career experiences do not revolve around dollars, tools, or awards. People are the central point of my fondest memories and best experiences. I go to work and give 100% effort every day to provide for my family, succeed with my coworkers, and bring value to my customers. Without an emphasis on people, none of the work matters. After I had a series of meetings with Cliff Fetner (Founder, CEO) and Daniel Fetner (co-founder, advisor), our CTO and Chief of Staff, as well as the rest of the Soil Connect team, I realized that there was something special about this group of people. I have never experienced a more well-rounded and highly skilled group of individuals in the same place. What got me most excited is that everyone on the team prioritizes their families first, works collaboratively and passionately with the team, and puts incredible emphasis on giving our customers what they need to have a better life and more prosperous business. I chose Soil Connect because of the people.

Left to Right: Jonathan Alvarado (CGO), Daniel Fetner (Advisor & Co-Founder), Cliff Fetner (Founder & CEO), Steve Eakin (CTO)

Process
Great ideas and talented people are both limited by the processes and procedures that provide structure for organizational activities. One of the most important things for any startup is to become process-oriented and to build scalable and measurable growth. For successful funding rounds, sustainable revenue models, and low-friction experiences between employees and customers, strong processes are a must! I learned an incredible amount from my previous startup experience about building and scaling organizational processes. At Soil Connect I have the opportunity to work with process-driven individuals and contribute extensively with my own expertise. It’s exciting to be in an environment where the only limitation is ourselves!

Product
My past experiences have been fraught with product-related friction and limitations. Nothing is more frustrating for someone in charge of growth than being handcuffed by product. As I learned about Soil Connect and got to know its leadership team, it became apparent that product would not be holding us back, but actually would push me to keep up! Poor products can keep a company afloat, good products can allow a company to succeed, but great products allow for the type of hyper-growth that changes entire industries. With a CEO who is from the industry and knows the product needs, and a CTO who is an expert at building scalable marketplaces and SaaS offerings, I am 100% positive that we will bring more value to the market with our product than any other tech platform in the construction industry.

--

--

Jonathan Alvarado
My Next Career Adventure

I am a top sales executive with a passion for bringing disruptive technology and solutions to the marketplace while making people a priority.