An Honest Thank You To My Varsity Letter

Kaitlin Smith
My Odyssey
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2017

Thank you for making my high school experience.

Thank you for giving me something to do in my god-forsaken hometown.

Thank you for allowing me to grow closer to my family and my friends.

You allowed me to grow, grow some more and somehow grow even more than that. You allowed me to live each day with positivity, wake up and look forward to practice. I mean let’s be honest, from sophomore year on you were basically the reason that I went to school. I fell in love with more than just the sport I got you for, I fell in love with the family that you gave me. My blood, sweat and tears went into getting you. I worked my ass off trying to prove that I was worth getting you. And then did it again, and again because you became more than something that I could earn or a status, you become a symbol for a part of me. You became a symbol for the 15+ hours a week that I dedicated to my sport, you became a reason to believe that I was worth more than my academics and that I did have drive.

From the moment that I laid eyes on you, I knew that the work was worth it. More importantly that work resulted in more than just you. You let me be a part of a group of people that didn’t just care about themselves but cared about the team. I know that I worked every day to earn you but you have more weight to you than just the pins that you bear.

The memories, the successes, the failures and the love that you represent is worth more than just you hanging up on my wall like the rest of my high school memories, you the represent hard work, dedication, and sacrifice of my high school years. But most importantly the friendships, the triumphs, the bus rides, the medals, and the family that I would not have traded for the world.

--

--