To My Dear Little, From Your Big

Kaitlin Smith
My Odyssey
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2017

It’s that time of the year everyone! Aside from bid day and formal, what is more exciting than the initiation of a chapter’s newest members? Even more than that, seeing your friend, rush crush and Little get initiated is something greater than anything that I could ever imagine. I truly cannot wait to call you my sister. And with that, I finally realize the love and excitement that my Big had for me going through the new member process.

Before I tell my little how much I love her, first shout out to my Big who helped me become a sister and has ever since shown me unconditional love and support.

Little,

Thank you for letting me love you so much. I didn’t know that it was possible for me to love someone as much as I love you. Thank you for accepting my quirks, my friends and our lineage (as shamble-ly as it is,) but most importantly thank you for giving me the opportunity to get to know you and for allowing our relationship to blossom.

I know that every Big says that their Little is the funniest, smartest and most beautiful person in the entire world, but for you in my eyes, it is one of the most honest thing I could possibly say. You inspire me to be a better person, sister and, to be honest, crafter. Within the short time that I have been blessed to be your Big you have shown me more love, respect and positivity than I think you realize. I constantly find myself calling you “leeetttlee” rather than by your actual name, and I swear that it will always be out of affection.

I want you to know how proud I am of you. I know that you will become a force to be reckoned within the chapter and whatever you plan to do within, you will be successful in every aspect.

I want to promise you right now: I will be there for you whenever you need me — as a sister, a friend, a shoulder to cry on or even a listening ear. Sorry to say it, but you’re pretty much stuck with me for the rest of your life.

Love you forever,

Biggie

--

--