What UMBC Greek Life Has Taught Me

Kaitlin Smith
My Odyssey
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2017

Greek life to the average ear sparks a few ideas. I know before I entered college I thought Greek life was just like the TV show. I thought that all sororities were full of blonde, skinny girls who were just in college to find their husbands and become trophy wives. I thought that fraternity men just drank every night, and didn’t care about anything but girls and booze.

But then I came to UMBC, and my whole outlook changed. UMBC’s Greek life is a little different. — shoutout PMC 3rd floor). I liked the girls but was too afraid.

So, fast forward a year later to a girl who found her friend group, her passions and her footing in college. I had found friends in Greek life and countered the preconceived notions that I had.

In the middle of winter, I decided that Greek life was something that I wanted in my life, and a month later I found my home. I didn’t know it at the time but my life changed forever.

UMBC’s Greek life is nothing like what you think it is.

UMBC Greek life does not have on campus housing, it doesn’t not have a huge party culture and it is not a huge group of trust fund babies who are superficial, just getting by in classes and only caring about what they look like.

UMBC Greek life is…

More than just chapters or councils. It’s a community filled with people who genuinely care about each other. We may have different aims, ideals and goals but as a whole, Greek life is something more. Because of UMBC’s diversity, we are also a group of people that embrace other cultures along with our own traditions. We are a group that cares about the community around us as well as the one that we are in. We raise thousands of dollars together to support each other’s philanthropies and chapter development. We like to have fun but we also are a studious group of people who want to do great things professionally but might also find our future husband or wife along the way.

What I can say is: UMBC Greek life is different. It’s around 5 percent of the population but is full of heart and dedication. Greek life has helped me grow in more ways than one and I could not imagine my life without it.

As I sit next to one of my sisters and am waiting for another to arrive, I cannot help but thank God for the blessing that he has given me to be at UMBC and to be involved but also for my Chapter and all of Greek life.

--

--