Hello 2.0 for my readers!

Riddhiman Adib
My Online Cafe
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2017
Photo by Andrew Wulf on Unsplash

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog.

Part of the reason was probably I was just being lazy, like always. Part of the reason might be that I didn’t have anything interesting enough to share with the world. Part of it was because I was going through some abrupt changes in my life.

This time, last year, I’ve already had taken the decision to put a pause in my job-life and pursue higher studies. It was a tough call. During my May-June-July, I was going thorough my GRE and TOEFL. Along with my job and a few extra projects, I started looking for universities and communicating with Professors. Finally after a long one year, here I am at Milwaukee, US, starting my Ph.D. in Computational Sciences at Marquette University.

I am not alone here, my wife is also here with me, starting the same Ph.D. program under the same Professor. And we are also the Grad Teaching Assistant for our department. Pretty excited and nervous at the same time!

Milwaukee is a damn cool city! It’s the city of festivals! I love how close to downtown I am, how close to Lake Michigan I am. There’s lots to do here at afternoon and at night. Me and my wife, we live only one block away from the University. I get to enjoy the random chatter of early morning students, I get to enjoy the quiet evening with cold breeze blowing over us.

Life, as I knew it, will never be the same again! I’ve left my home and country a long way back, and I’ve got to get through the daily struggle of a grad student for the next five years. That’s a huge commitment and I had to make it! Now I just have to make sure this experience becomes worth of my sacrifice.

I’ll definitely get back to blogging again. But this time, it would be different. I’ll continue writing on Android, but there’ll be lot more of grad stuff and new cool tech things that I enjoy. And also, there’ll be a more about life at Milwaukee.

So, here’s to the new chapter!

--

--

Riddhiman Adib
My Online Cafe

Postdoctoral Researcher. Tech Enthusiast. Occasional Blogger. Self-proclaimed Musician. more at: adib2149.github.io