World in 360

Riddhiman Adib
My Online Cafe
Published in
2 min readSep 2, 2016

(This is the first of different random tech-related projects I’m going to share with the world. I randomly try out different experiments on a regular basis, some work, some don’t. This is one of the very few that survived. :D )

World in 360 is a web application, that contains a personal collection of 360 degree panoramic photos. This is a random project I tried a few weekends ago. All the images are amateur photos, and thus might contain a few errors here and there. Visit here: http://bit.ly/world_in_360

World in 360: Homepage Screenshot

Okay, a little background.

Being an Android enthusiast, I’ve always wanted to have an awesome Android device. Last year, I finally bought a Nexus 5X, which is now beautifully integrated with my life. One of the most amazing features of Nexus 5X is that it’s brilliant stock camera with dozens of options.

So, it has a 360 degree photo mode and I’ve tried to take 360 degree photos with it. The camera is okay, but what makes it so interesting is the ease to capture the moments. You’re literally one click away from the moments you want to capture. No big setup, no fancy camera. Of course, the end product is not so robust the other ones you see on the site, but it perfectly satisfies my personal need.

And then I thought, hey, now that I have a few 360 degree photos, how to place them in a convenient container? Facebook seemed like the perfect option, but I wanted something for myself, not just any photo album out of the around 300 that I already have. Then it came to my mind, why not a website?

And then, this came to life. It was a weekend project, and fun one indeed. I learned a lot, and now I have my own collection of 360 degree photos.

For the tech savvy guys out there, this was built with PHP Codeigniter framework. Two different js library, Threejs and Progressjs was added as support. For faster production time, I picked CI in back end, and Bootstrap in front end (UI). No time wasted o the hosting and domain too, just used Heroku.

So, visit the site, enjoy. Let me know if this looks cool, and knock me if you want a collection of your own.

URL: http://bit.ly/world_in_360

--

--

Riddhiman Adib
My Online Cafe

Postdoctoral Researcher. Tech Enthusiast. Occasional Blogger. Self-proclaimed Musician. more at: adib2149.github.io