Hippity Hoppity

Erin
My Own Utopia
Published in
2 min readDec 24, 2018

I’ve restarted down the rabbit trail of pursuing the path towards learning web development. Having completed a BFA and MA in education, how could I not be curious about this new venture? But, learning to code is like riding a bicycle, if every time you took a break from riding your bicycle, you came back to a motorcycle that had sprung up a new engine.

Having come into this world initially with only a basic understanding of HTML and CSS, I’m equal parts seduced by the game rewards systems become online tutorials and exhausted knowing that I’m above starting from the bottom yet again. How many times do I have to be reminded what an h1 tag is before I can move on to the next part?

So why start again? It’s demotivating at first, knowing that you’re going to have to back-track. I always hate to rewatch the recaps when I just want to get started on the new season. But it feels so rewarding, when you can reach back to just the right section of your brain, blow off the dust, and unearth that bit of knowledge you haven’t lost. It’s there, but maybe just not where you thought you left it.

So, one step forwards, two steps back: we might have to run a few loops to get us to the return value, but we’ll get there soon enough.

--

--