Learning coding doesn’t have to just be for computers

Erin
My Own Utopia
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2019

A year ago, when I first started to get more serious about learning to code, I picked up a couple of notebooks and a bevy of multicoloured pens to start to write out what I was learning. What I realised is that as I was learning the concepts, it helped me to draw it out.

Early days

Solving the problems and working through coursework helps to create the muscle memory. What I liked about the notebook method was it provided a tangible outlet to scaffold my understanding, and take the time to group different pieces of information together in different colours.

When my computer had to go in for repair this past week, I was devastated. How could I keep up learning if I didn’t have my computer?

I then remembered these notebooks that had been sitting on my shelf, and pens trying out in a drawer. I pulled everything out, opened some videos of concepts I thought I already ‘knew’, and started to write.

I realised that I hadn’t been quite as confident as I thought. Slowing down and investigating what I was learning on pen and paper made everything a bit more palpable before I had to rush into learning the next thing.

I wanted to share this, if anyone else struggles when they’re trying to learn something new (and a reminder to myself). You don’t have to immediately accept the way it’s being taught to you — you can find your own ways for it to make sense based on what you already know.

--

--