Creative Brains

Stephanie Wayfarer
My Personal Bubble
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

January 6, 2022 was a big day for me. I never struggled in school much, except with organization. I am also very forgetful, for which I have compensated over the years with impressive note taking and organizational skills. Having a smart phone and setting alarms to keep me focused has helped immensely.

Back in September of 2021, my work schedule changed. I went from full time, working three days a week from 3pm- 3am, to having no work schedule. Now that I am PRN, I pick up shifts on what days I want, what times I want, by letting my supervisors know the day before that I want to pick up. I thought I would accomplish so much with my flexible work schedule, but instead I was floundering.

Today, I went to my first therapy session with a wonderful counselor, who told me I scored high for ADHD on the assessment test.

Today I took the first step to improve myself in a way that I never have before. I am so excited! Instead of taking medications, I will be working on exercises. Why do I post this personal information on my artist blog? Because I suspect that many other creative types struggle as well.

Thankfully, I work in the medical field and could recognize my struggles and asked for an ADHD assessment. However, my specialty is not in mental health, so I also recognize that a mental health professional can give me tools to make my life easier. As I progress, I will share what I learn with my followers!

If you would like to understand more about ADD, I suggest this website! Adult ADHD Blog also posts to Instagram and Facebook.

--

--

Stephanie Wayfarer
My Personal Bubble

Stephanie is an artist and first responder. All stories are free to read! Subscribe for random honesty delivered to your email.