SF Slaps Man!

Belle Gill
my queer eye
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018
From Flickr

San Francisco has a reputation for being extremely open or liberal. Trawling through blogs and vlogs, I found that most people say it is not uncommon to see public nudity, people openly smoking pot and very openly queer people everywhere in San Francisco. These things are considered normal and a weird reaction to them would garner a negative reaction from the locals.

Woah there — From the ThoughtCatalog

I have lived in Malaysia (a very conservative country) and Melbourne (a much more liberal one). However, none of the things mentioned above are common sights in either places. This difference may cause me to experience some culture shock or, more likely, culture confusion.

My initial exposure to San Francisco might bring an influx on information as I have to get used to these social norms that I may not be accustomed to. I would probably feel out or uncomfortable in the beginning. I would also probably experience lots of mixed emotions, as I would be happy to be in a city that openly celebrates queer people. This is why I think culture confusion would a better explanation of my experiences.

The main advice given to people moving or visiting San Francisco it to be open and accepting. Hence, I would have to learn to get used to these sights. Prior research before visiting San Francisco would help but I think the best way to minimize my culture confusion would be to experience the San Francisco culture for myself. Exploring local bars and restaurants while befriending locals would be the best bet for me to adapt to San Francisco.

--

--

Belle Gill
my queer eye
0 Followers
Editor for

I am bad at voicing out my opinions so I write them down.