Silo, My Rambling Review

A fresh enough take on post apocalyptic premises

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews

--

The main character from the TV show “Silo.”
There’s one scene where the main character’s accent slipped, and I wondered, “is she from a Nordic country?” Turns out, yeah, she’s from Sweden. I felt very clever for catching that.

(Spoiler level: very mild. I talk about some specific events, but I’ve tried to not say anything that I think would spoil the big reveal at the end. So you can safely read this and hopefully it will help you decide if you want to invest the time in this show.)

Silo is one of these “big mystery” shows, where all events are connected to a central question that won’t get answered until the end of the story.

Ugh, do I want to spend ten hours of my life waiting for a mystery to be solved? I guess I did, because I watched all of it. Though, my attention wandered now and again.

In Silo, the big question that we, the audience, want to know is, why is everyone living in a huge underground silo? A silo that seems to be a mega bomb shelter, with thousands, maybe tens of thousands, of people living on a hundred or so floors.

It’s pretty clear from the start that the world outside the silo has been destroyed by some apocalyptic event. So, question answered, right?

Well, no, because almost right away, it’s revealed that what people assume is going on outside and what’s actually going on might be different. It might be that it’s safe to go outside, but a conspiracy by the authorities in charge of the silo…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.