Spider-man: Far From Home, my rambling review

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews
12 min readSep 11, 2019

--

©2019 Marvel or Sony or somebody. Used without express permission, but please don’t sue me.

Spoilers. Lots of ’em. This isn’t a review to help you decide to see the movie, it’s more like, if you’ve seen the movie already and want to know if people out there are bitching about the same things you are.

I liked the movie, but, before anything else, just fuck off with the whole premise that Peter Parker loves Tony Stark as some kind of father figure. Gross.

I’m not going to sit here and claim that any one person’s perception of an iconic character is more valid than anyone else’s. Sure, I’ve read Spider-man all my life, but so have many others, and we all might disagree about what works and what doesn’t work about the character. Not to mention that there are so many depictions of Spider-man in so many mediums now, it might even be impossible to sift out any constants.

However, I do think you can talk objectively about how some choices have consequences to be considered. In this case, I think there are more cons than pros to deviating from how I’ve understood Spidey to be depicted in many previous incarnations. He’s not a joiner. Just as he’s an outcast at school who doesn’t fit in with the cool kids, he finds it just as hard to get along with the big flashy super heroes. Sure, one time he tried to join The Fantastic Four, but that was because he mistakenly believed they were an organization that paid, and…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.