Stranger Things, my rambling review

Mainly about Stranger Things 3.

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews

--

(Spoilers up to the end of season three. But this isn’t a review to recommend anything, it’s the kind of thing you read to find out if you weren’t alone in hating what everyone else seems to like.)

One time, a million years ago, I saw Back to the Future in the theatre with my dad. I remember him talking in the car ride home about how weird it was to see the era of his youth, the 1950s, presented as this time in history where things were so different that it made a strange world for a hero to explore.

I understood what he meant on a purely rational level, but it was only after watching Stranger Things season 3 that I can really feel how he must have felt. It’s weird seeing the time I grew up turned into this fetishized caricature of what it really was.

The eighties didn’t look like that. Like all stereotypes, they pull elements from reality, so I can’t deny the eighties also did kind of look like that. Except it didn’t.

Just as an aside, if you want to know what the eighties genuinely looked like, watch The Americans. That show nails the vibe of the eighties. It’s also a pretty cool show, I recommend it.

According to Netflix, over 64 million people watched Stranger Things season 3 in the first month of…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge
My Rambling Reviews

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.