Sunday Market Magic in Pisac

Linus Höller
My Red Suitcase
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2018

I spent one Sunday visiting the market in Pisac, about an hour to the north of Cusco by public transport. It is a very small town in the Valle Sagrado, and pretty much the entire town is transformed into a market on Sunday. The farmers from the mountains around the town go down to the valley to sell their latest crops and fruits, and you can buy a ton of clothes, alpaca sweaters and ugly (and less ugly) souvenirs. Surprisingly, it is not too touristy — although, of course, there are quite many tourists. To get there by public transport, you need some “inside information”, because the “collectivos”, the private buses that go there and back, stop in some shady side roads, not at a bus stop or on a main road. The trip costs between 3 and 5 soles for 45 minutes. But now, without further talking, here are the photos of Pisac:

This and more stories were originally published on www.myredsuitcase.com .

--

--

Linus Höller
My Red Suitcase

I’m a journalist, traveler, photographer, pianist and student from Austria, based in Chicago. I go places and I do stuff.