Putting Myself Out There

Social Media Strategy

Kirby Williamson
The Journey
2 min readMay 4, 2016

--

Look at me! That’s the goal of anyone with a brand. Find an audience and engage. But you gotta have a plan!

SO HERE’S MINE!

For my SoulChap.com social media strategy, I plan to use Facebook and Twitter for my site promotions. The plan is to use HootSuite to post to the said platforms at least two to three times a day. With a service like HootSuite, I can post once in the morning and set the times for the future posts throughout the day.

SoundCloud

Because I am doing podcasts, it’s more beneficial for me to post to SoundCloud. I can also engage with my audience as SoundCloud allows for commenting. I have some followers, but I want to grow it. And though SoundCloud allows its users to interact and comment on the podcasts, the interaction is somewhat limited. I can only post podcasts, not messages. None-the-less, SoundCloud is the perfect platform for storing my podcasts. They also allow me to link to other social media platforms such as Facebook,Twitter, and Instagram.

Facebook

Facebook will be my main platform for posting items and promoting my site. This works because the platform comes with an already established audience. It gives me a greater reach as it allows one to promote towards the friend of friends. Also, Facebook allows one to promote using paid advertisements. I feel that this is a great way to reach new people. The setup is such that it allows the user to target his audience using demographics.

I created a Soulchap.com cover for the Facebook page. However, I am using a face profile picture instead of logo . I feel this is a great way to personalize connections. Without a face picture, the site looks more corporate than personable. Corporate is not the theme I am going for. Face pictures are lighter and more intimate. I prefer that to encourage engagement.

Twitter

I will also use Twitter to engage with my audience. Twitter is valuable because it allows one to retweet other user tweets. With that, one can hook up with those already in his community and share what they have posted. Retweets are my favorite part of Twitter. Someone within the audience of the person I am retweeting may decide to follow my tweets. With any luck, the Twitter user will retweet my posts.

So that is the plan. I will ink out an hour a day for the task. I’m worth that.

--

--