The Me Looking Back At Me

A self-evaluation

Kirby Williamson
The Journey
3 min readApr 23, 2016

--

How I see myself

Like most people, this past few months have been a juggling act. I honestly feel like I should be given a job at Barnum & Bailey Circus. I mean, if you’re going to do it, you may as well get paid for it, right? But please don’t give me peanuts. I hate peanuts.

One thing I try to pay close attention to is time. Unfortunately, time gave me its butt to kiss. I can honestly say: I did not do as well in this area as I would have liked. I worked two full-time jobs, helped with a sick parent, and attended school full-time. And I’m no spring chicken. It was a task. But as such situations go, we prioritize. I did that. The result: I quit a job. Sanity is important. Peace of mind is my refuge. Less stress is a treat. At least it is for me.

Soulchap.com is taking form. I am very proud of it. I am still honing my podcast skills. But like anything we want to do well in life, it takes time. It takes dedication. It takes focus. I focus as best I can, but life continues happening. I said all of that to say: I did not promote the site, nor my work as much as I would have liked. At least not in the allotted time.

My logic was get content first, then promote. I wish I would have gotten it earlier, but life kept happening. Now I have content. I’m ready to promote. I’m plugged into my community. It’s time to go. I am proud of my accomplishments. It is important that I remain in this vibration for the sake of my continued evolution.

Soulchap.com is more than just a website for me. It’s more than a portfolio. This is my baby. And this baby must be nurtured. The site highlights my podcasts. It showcases my photography and videography. This weekend I plan to implement video podcasts.

I have put a lot of work into this site. Could I have done more sooner? Yes. Did I try? Yes. Did I succeed? Yes. However, I was unable to promote due to my not having enough content sooner. And that was my shortcoming. Nonetheless, given the circumstances, I’m pleased at the progress that was made. I have a body of content, and all the moving parts to do what needs to be done. I move forward in my dream. I have a vision and a path that I am proud to walk. Is there room for growth? Always.

This project differs from everything else in my life right now. It means more to my growth than any project I’ve undertaken as of late. Soulchap.com is my breath. I breathe.

--

--