Budva Travel Guide: Things To Do In Budva, Montenegro

(Note: This blog is a republishing of one I did for my trip in 2018/2019 and some of the information may not be the same.)

This view from the citadel was amazing!

“Don’t go to Budva, it’s not worth your time spend more time in Kotor!” As I sat around the communal area in Ulcinj this is what almost everyone told me and now I can call B.S. Though it was their opinion and they are entitled to it, for me they were dead wrong.

I absolutely loved this town (even more than Kotor because it was less tourist-packed, but had the same vibe!) despite everyone trying to deter me from going. Much like Ulcinj, there weren’t as many things to do as other destinations I had been to, but I really wasn’t there for museums and monuments.

What was I there for…the beaches and crystal clear water what else. Okay let’s get down to the good stuff…you know where I stayed and what I did…

Accommodations… Freedom Hostel

A great common area is key to a great hostel.

Okay, so it was gonna be hard to top Hostel Pirate in Ulcinj! But this hostel came close. Freedom Hostel (along with the hostel I will stay at in Kotor and Hostel Pirate) belongs to a group of hostels that got together to form a sorta conglomerate. This group of hostels all have offers that work together.

Make sure if you stay in any of these to ask about the stamp card. Okay now that we have talked about that we can get to talking about the hostel itself. Freedom Hostel had an amazing vibe and the staff was all very cool as well.

If you add that up with the spectacular location and the super chill common area it's a recipe for a stellar time. They also offer meals and activities as well. Okay, enough of the chitchat about where I stayed let’s get down to what there is to do or at least what I got up to while I was there…

Things To Do in Budva…

Budva is small but has a lot to offer when it comes to fun activities. In spite of all the naysayers, I actually found myself liking it more than the next stop on my itinerary.

Budva has every charm of Kotor without the heaping masses of flesh and sardine-packed alleyways. Plus it has amazing beaches…so why would people warn me off. ( I don’t want you to think I didn’t like Kotor, it’s just more touristic therefore busier.)

While Budva is not as much of a party destination like Kotor, you can get your party on for sure, and it’s not as publicized as Kotor is by the blogger/vloggers of the world. So let’s change that (make sure to check out my vlog for Budva as well)!

What fun did I get up to in Budva? Let’s jump into that as well as a few things I missed as ideas for your next trip to Budva, Montenegro. (BTW…Don’t listen to the crowds and follow your gut you won’t regret it!)

Old Town…

Budva’s old town was much more what I was expecting in Ulcinj, so I was pleasantly surprised, to say the least. The streets are small and cobble-stoned and despite there being a very touristy feel the atmosphere still screams “old town”.

There are no signs bolted to the walls instead most use the old-fashioned hanging wood signs I can imagine that were there in the good old days. Take some time to roam the streets and get a little twisted around, but don’t be scared it’s not that big you will be able to find your way back to where you started easily.

The Citadel…

At the south end of the walled old town lies the star attraction, the Citadela. Originally built in the 15th century as the main fortification of Budva (a.k.a. Stari Grad). the citadel now is the main tourist draw within the walls. Now that we know something about this amazing sight, what did I think of it…Well, I enjoyed strolling through the courtyards and the views from the top of the walls of the citadel were nothing short of amazing.

The entry fee was well worth what you get and the short stroll through the library was something of a dream come true for me. So many books…I damn near died! Do I think this is the most amazing thing in the world…no, but it is a definite must-see during your stay in Budva. There is a small cafe and a little museum as well so allow yourself at least 45 minutes to wander the citadel and take some great pics for the Gram…lol.

The Beaches…

The beaches of Budva are amazing and easily reachable from the old town section of the city by several points of entry. One small warning they are pebble breaches so make sure you have good flip flops. I did not and the first part of the trek to Mogran 2 was absolutely painful. The scenery and the sound of the ocean waves deadened the pain though, but there was still pain. Like I said save yourself that pain and take my advice bring good flip flops.

There are many beaches as I said but I decided to trek to Mogren 2 which is reached by going through a cave after Mogren 1. The crystal clear greenish-blue water surrounded by cliffs with lush forest is amazing and great for a nice relaxing beach day. Whether you are after a dive in the ocean or simply just trying to get some color on your white ass legs (<- this girl right here!) it is a great way to spend at least one of your days.

Unfortunately, there were still things I missed and excursions I just didn’t get to. One of my fellow hostel stayers did a spearfishing expedition and a kayak adventure, so if you are into that stuff there are plenty of opportunities for you as well.

I also didn’t get to do the museum (not for lack of trying, it was closed when I tried…sad face!) or the hike to Sveti Stefan (I thought they were saying sweaty Steven, but no it’s Sveti Stefan which really means Saint Steven island.), but that’s okay cause I will be back Budva. So until then and the next post Shadows as always safe journeys…

If you are digging the blog make sure to check out my YouTube channel and follow me on IG. That way you get the full 360-degree experience of all my adventures.

Here are the links to my vlogs that correspond with this blog…

Written By Kim Miller (Freelance Writer & World Traveler) @penumbra1977

--

--

Kimberly Miller
My Shadow & Me: Life & Lessons of a Lost Girl

I am a creative freelancer with a passion for film and the written word.