Ulcinj…My First Impression of Montenegro

(Note this blog is a repost from my trip in 2018 so some of the information may have changed)

It’s a trap! No seriously originally I was simply using this as a jump-off point before I got to the good stuff…you know Budva and Kotor. But truthfully this little city wound up being my favorite stop in my whole trip through Montenegro. So, what does it mean it’s a trap? Well, I originally only booked three days but wound up staying six.

Whether it was the vibe of the Hostel or just the chill atmosphere of the city with its beautiful scenery I am unsure but I can not suggest a stop in Ulcinj enough if you just happen to be strolling through Montenegro. Let’s talk about it and see if we can narrow down the reason why I found myself altering my itinerary…

Accommodations…Hostel Pirate

Hostel Pirate…what can I say? Well, I can say of all the hostels I have stayed in during my trip this takes the number one position. The atmosphere here is amazing and the owner Dejana is absolutely the best host that I have ever had. The staff is amazing and super friendly as well as helpful when it comes to what to do during your stay.

The hostel itself is decked out in pirate memorabilia in line with its name and the rooms are super comfortable. Its location is perfect for all your explorations. (And BTW the directions to get to the hostel are some of the best I have had in all my travels, thanks Dejana!) All in all, this is one of those hostels that just screams it’s time to meet some cool people and you will. With a great common room, free beer at night, and staff of amazing folks you can't go wrong at Hostel Pirate.

Things to do….

So armed with things that are available for your exploration thanks to the informative staff of the hostel, what to do, what to do? Well, I actually didn’t do a lot there because I used it to recharge my batteries more than anything, but I did do a wonderful beach day, took a stroll through the old town (or the castle), and wandered down a beautiful pine forest trail…

Beach Day…

After a rapid trek through Albania, I needed a day of surf and sand and Ulcinj’s main beach near the old town was perfect. Though there are more beaches to choose from this one is perfect for a quick day of relaxation.

Old Town…

Okay, so I have to be real honest here…I did not really enjoy this old town as much as some that are coming in future posts, but it is a must to see when you are visiting Ulcinj. I hear you guys now…why didn’t you like it? It looks pretty? It is very pretty but too commercial feeling for my tastes.

You will see in future posts that it is not a tourist thing, but the feeling of the old town in Ulcinj, in my opinion, is tarnished by the signs bolted into the walls at every turn. Though I didn’t really enjoy the old town as much as I thought I would have I will say the views are stunning and I was told by several people that there are some good restaurants within its walls.

Pine Forest Hike…

This was my favorite thing of my entire stay in Ulcinj (except for the hostel of course). Suggested by Dejana I thought why not check out just how to fit I had gotten while on my trip. So after roaming through the alleys of the old town I took off down this walking path. (FYI I had gotten way fitter for sure…I didn’t die after a four-hour hike…that’s pretty damn good!)

This hike which if I had kept trekking would have led me to some more wonderful beaches. The views and just the beauty of this walk were exwhat I needed. If you are a nature lover I just know this will be in the top two on your list of awesome memories from your stay in Ulcinj.

Okay so I am not sure we answered the question of how I got sucked into this fantastic vortex, but I was not the only one during my stay. There is just something about this little city that grabbed me and held me until I had reached my full charge and was ready to move on.

I will definitely be returning for another visit to Ulcinj and if you are headed to Montenegro you should too. Until the next post as always, Shadows safe journeys…

Check out my Ulcinj vlogs…

If you would like more travel content you can check out my YouTube channel or follow me on Instagram @ penumbra1977.

Written by Kim Miller (World Traveler & Freelance Writer)

--

--

Kimberly Miller
My Shadow & Me: Life & Lessons of a Lost Girl

I am a creative freelancer with a passion for film and the written word.