The Legend of 1900 (1998)

The Silent Sea

Lost at sea, a man finds love, death and life everlasting.

Adnan X. Khan
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2013

--

My skin was on fire when our plane fell from the sky.

The rescue team never came for us.

And had they, they would find only pieces: mangled steel, dismembered hands and legs, soaked passports, food trays, may be a stuffed giraffe.

The ocean I fell into was vast and without limits.

I drifted for weeks, years, may be more.

I was angry this entire time. Angry with myself for boarding that doomed flight, angry with the bastards for not finding me, angry at the sea in which I now lived…angry with her.

Her. As my plane went down and the hot fire swallowed me, I remembered wanting to tell her that courtship involves politics and intrigue; that in order to attain an everlasting love, we must extinguish our desire to possess the other. I remembered wanting to tell her this at a moment of true inspiration. But before I could, I bought a ticket and well, you know the rest.

After I fell into the sea, time became a mystery. After my plane fell out of the sky, I became trapped in an immovable stillness. I heard nothing, felt nothing. There was only the sea and a wounded silence between us.

But lately, I have stopped being angry.

I like to remember her still.

Now as I drift over the big blue sea, I sometimes hear her sing.

--

--

Adnan X. Khan

Dubai-based cinematographer of films and commercials