Applying & Getting Offer: UCL MSc Computer Science(2022/23)

.ju
Hello, .ju!
Published in
4 min readSep 24, 2023

--

In this article, I’ll share how I prepared for the application and the general timeline.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Background

I was majoring in English and double majoring in Business Management in my undergraduate years. I applied for a Computer Science Conversion Master’s program in the UK the same year I finished my bachelor's degree, and was fortunate to receive offers from four different universities. I ultimately decided to attend UCL (University College London) and currently have some free time, so I decided to share some steps about the application process.

Relevant CS Coursework

The relevant coursework is something that I only started becoming aware of in the last year, but according to other applicant’s experience, it’s essential to have some relevant coursework in your past studies.

  • Linear Algebra (Electrical Engineering)
  • Calculus (Business Management)
  • Statistics I and II (Business Management)
  • Programming Language I and II (Credit Program, teaching Python)
  • Business Analytics Programming (Business Management, teaching Python)
  • Programming Language for Language Analysis (English postgraduate course, teaching R)

--

--

.ju
Hello, .ju!

24 y.o. Software Developer || UK + Taiwan || Wanna chat? Let's connect 🙌 https://medium.com/@.ju/about