My heart had nine lives

Christina P. Thorne
My Soul is a Cat
Published in
1 min readNov 29, 2019
Photo by Eric Han on Unsplash

The first went when Billy
Stole my ice cream.
Raspberry and vanilla
With a touch of mint,
Still my favourite.

Grabbed it from my hand.
Savage and strong
Seven years old Billy.
Did it with a smile.

I thought he’s playing
A stupid game.
Boys tease, honey,
Mom would say
Like she knew everything.

But then, he gave it
To Lucy.
Blonde, curly hair, green eyes, big eyes,
Lucy.

My raspberry and vanilla ice cream
With a touch of mint.
Lucy liked it too,
Made her smile and
Kiss Billy on the cheek.

That’s when I felt
My heart beating
One life less.

--

--

Christina P. Thorne
My Soul is a Cat

Author of “Every Man is Superman: A roast on masculinity”. I make fun of men, life, myself, and cats if I feel brave enough.