Office Affairs!

2. Sweets @ my desk

Masoom Vyas
My Sprinkling Life
2 min readMar 13, 2017

--

( Office affairs deals with the basics one should be prepared to learn as soon as he enters the corporate world. How each one goes on to give us a life lesson. Pardon me, if I.T. professionals could relate more to it… )

Screenshot_20170313-130717_01

That day I asked

“Yeh Sumit Kumar kaun hai?

“Ummm, I don’t know” said my colleague. Nobody in my cubicle could recall who Sumit Kumar was. I guess none of us ever tried to know him, until today. But what exactly did happen?

Each of us had received an email:

SUB: Sweets @ my desk
Till stocks last!!

Then the search began, I asked people who were in here since a year or so and tried to find out who was Sumit Kumar. After all, how could someone miss free sweets! Everyone be like ‘Kaam hota rahega, sweets nai chutni chahiye!’.

And you know what, that’s the irony of life. Nobody knows you, unless they are going to get something from you. And someone began thinking, ‘I wish uske pass moti-chur ka laddu ho’, while another one with a comparatively lower expectation, said ‘It’ll be alright agar Dudh ka halwa ho’.

I don’t know who made it mandatory, that ‘Arey, tum ghar ja rahe ho? Oh, phir mithai toh lekar hi aana.’. And then, when everyone gets their share of sweets, they cheer up. Nobody asks how was the trip or anything which would possibly be the right question to ask.

Coming to Sumit Kumar’s story, we eventually found out who he was. But it was no pleasure to know him, in an audacious attempt to make Sumit famous, a colleague of his played a prank and sent this email from his id to the whole office.

Sumit was embarrassed but the whole office was sad. I heard someone saying ‘Abe yaar, aisa nai chalta, now Sumit has to bring sweets tomorrow.’

No email has ever moved this office as much as Sweets @ my desk.

***

Share your love ( only if there is :P ) in the comments section.
Also share and spread!!

Connect with me on facebook : /masoomv1

Also follow me on twitter: @AnEphemeralVoice

--

--

Masoom Vyas
My Sprinkling Life

Time to paint this monochrome world with the colours of my life!