Office Affairs

1. Acronyms everywhere

Masoom Vyas
My Sprinkling Life
2 min readMar 2, 2017

--

( Office affairs deals with the basics one should be prepared to learn as soon as he enters the corporate world. How each one goes on to give us a life lesson. Pardon me, if I.T. professionals could relate more to it… )

screenshot_20170302-155138_01

‘Vyas, raise a CR from Ultimatix and remain in touch with that guy… Abhijeet, from the IS team.’ -said the guy who was helping me getting settled in my new (also, my first) ODC(Offshore Development Center).

I was shocked, surprised.
“Boss, yeh chal kya raha hai?”. Without feeling ashamed and being completely frank I asked him to communicate the same to me in simple, understandable English.

He smiled, I could see his last teeth, the one lost deep inside. He again said,
“Vyas, raise a Change Request from Ultimatix and remain in touch with Abhijeet from the local Infrastructure Support.”

This was just the beginning, everyday from there onwards I got bombarded by varied acronyms. Some of which went like APAC, GBL, CORP, SBG, SBU, DWP, KBA, KT, KSS etc.

One of the most amazing ones was OOO. When my colleague asked me to set OOO before going on leave, I was like ‘Whaaatt…? What’s three zeros for?’. He laughed loudly, then clarified its Out-Of-Office.

It’s difficult, every acronym is so different from the other. I met people here who didn’t know what the full-form of any acronym, even after they have been there for months. They never tried to look or ask what it’s significance was. I pity them. These are just acronyms they never asked to know, imagine the stuff each one of them would have swallowed without ever asking or inquiring about.

We’ve done it. Each one of us. There is so much stuff we all have gulped down but have never been too inquisitive to ask about. Why? May be we all have been taught the following lessons

  • Badon ki baat nai taala karte, beta!!
  • Arey samne sawaal karta hai, tameez nai hai kya tujhe!
  • Mai tujse bada hu, muje zyada pata ya tujhe?

Argh. Our poor brain never questions anything anymore, accepts whatever is served… Sad isn’t it? Can’t we come out of it and start questioning..? Do give it a thought.

I know you are busy, but whatsapp pe ek do msg kum bhej dena, let people know what you think by writing a few words below, in the comments :)

And till next time, keep in mind that OOO is Out-Of-Office. :P

--

--

Masoom Vyas
My Sprinkling Life

Time to paint this monochrome world with the colours of my life!