Glimpse of My World

Zuhairi Zakraya
My Story, My Home
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2016

Waiting for the bus everyday can sometimes get a bit tiring, but one thing that doesn’t feel tiring is the time I spend with my friends at the bus stop. Before this photo was taken we decided to head to the shopping mall after school to interview a few more people for class, and to hang out and see what’s new.

This photo captures a glimpse of what transportation feels like for people who take public transportation in Perth. In this photo I am patiently waiting for my bus as I take a look at others walking to their buses and feel a sort of jealousy towards them.

I feel transportation is one of the key components in our society and I want to express what public transportation feels like to others who might take other forms of transportation.

I think it’s funny how animals can make home feel like home, even if I’m not home often. After a long day away, coming home to find my pet eagerly waiting for me at the front door leaves me feeling stoked. My cats are one of the main factors that makes a home feel like home to me.

This photo is one of my cats, Sushi, a name given to her by the previous owner. She loves to get a nice little pat. It’s really heartwarming when I see photos like these. I captured this image and added it to my collection because I wanted a reminder of what having a little bit of furry feline bonding time is like.

One of the most fundamental parts of the house is the kitchen. This is my sister baking a cake for her friend’s birthday. She is checking the box for the ingredients. I wanted to capture the moment, so in 10 years I can look back at this image and be reminded of this moment with my sister.

My family has collected souvenirs from different countries around the world. We display them in the living room. I think my parents are proud to show our guests the treasures we have collected. In the bottom are miniatures of the Eiffel tower which we bought in Paris. I feel as if there are many symbolic objects in this photo and it gives me a sense of diversity between different cultures all in one place.

Zuhairi Zakaraya

Age 16

Born in Malaysia.

--

--