My Australia

Mahdi Alshemary
My Story, My Home
Published in
1 min readOct 23, 2016

I think this photograph shows the everyday life of Australians. It shows the coming together of multiple races to one area. Within this photo we see people of Asian, Middle Eastern, and British descent.

I remembered hearing sounds of laughter and seeing smiles as people walked down the street. This place is full of diversity and happiness and I don’t think this is the same world the media portrays.

This is a photograph I took of four flags under the skies of Perth. These four flags show that Australia’s indigenous people’s flag is acknowledged as a flag of Australia just like all the other flags. The Australian community is a place where diversity and difference is accepted with open arms.

Mahdi Alshemary

Age 15

Born in Australia, Parents from Iraq

--

--