Impostor Syndrome’s a Real Bitch

Rebecca Coates
My Sweet Dumb Brain
4 min readDec 18, 2018

When Katie Hawkins-Gaar asked that I come on board as editor to her newsletter, My Sweet Dumb Brain, I felt as honored as I did skeptical.

For starters, professionally speaking, I’m just … not. I’m a stay-at-home mom to a charming, but challenging toddler. I sell vintage clothing on Etsy (read: a hobby that mostly pays for itself). I often fancy myself the unofficial therapist to my friends — and no, I don’t have any credentials whatsoever. I’m just an empathetic listener who sometimes gives solid advice!

When I thought of the person Katie should entrust with producing this meaningful passion project, I imagined someone with a much more impressive resume than my own. Although I was thrilled that she wanted my eyes and my guidance on her essays, I couldn’t help but wonder: why me?

When I graduated high school, I dreamt of living in New York. I saw myself as a woman with an enviable life, independent and cool, writing and editing for magazines, or working her way up the ranks in a publishing house. This, I told myself, was my future.

Enter depression and anxiety during my late teens/early twenties. Although I had always been an exceptional student with promise and talent, the self-sabotaging effects of my mental health derailed the transition from student to working adult in a way I had never expected. Instead of establishing the exciting, fabulous career-driven life I imagined for myself only years before, I went from being a summa cum laude college graduate to an adult with a string of under-achieving and under-stimulating occupations that I found myself struggling to maintain. All because my not-so-sweet, dumb brain told me I didn’t deserve (nor could possibly handle!) a “real job.”

Impostor syndrome has been a very real player in my life’s trajectory thus far. This is not where I’ll talk about regrets or “should” on myself; I’m pretty pleased on how far I’ve come, and with where I’ve landed. I never achieved a career beyond a four-year, part-time gig in online marketing and communications, but I did at least get to feel proud of and challenged by my work — and I was okay with that!

Then, I became a mother. And, in just a few days, I will do so for the second time.

I’m fine. I’m great. I totally have this.” — Someone better than I am

“Motherhood is the most rewarding job I’ve ever had,” countless moms say. “It’s also the hardest.” I’m not about to refute that. The clichéd adages come from a base truth. However, compared to the NYC fantasy life 17-year-old me knew I would have … well, I never saw this stay-at-home-mom, suburban wife existence for myself.

This pregnancy hasn’t been easy for me, mentally speaking. Everyone compliments me on how great I look, that pregnancy suits me, how “glowy” I am. The truth is that my psychological health feels anything but this radiant visage of motherhood I appear to be. Between having to alter my depression and anxiety medications, the heat of summer making outdoor exercise nearly non-existent (a huge part of my holistic well-being), to mothering my smart and spirited 2-year-old daughter through the fog and fatigue of pregnancy (a feat only accomplished thanks to endless hours of Paw Patrol on repeat), I have felt the steady creep of negative thought patterns enter into my psyche. Especially with another child on the horizon, I feel cemented in this idea that this is it. Diapers, playdates, mini-vans, PTA meetings — the next 20 years laid out nicely in a pre-packaged box that says, “American Dream!”

I am grateful and happy for the life I’ve built, despite the bleak picture I’ve painted. Yet, I still struggle with that voice — the one that says I’m not worthy, but then tells me how much potential I wasted, how I could have been something more, someone more than “just a mom.”

I find this to be especially true when considering the responsibility I’ve been given to collaborate on this newsletter. Am I deserving to have my name attached to something created by my wildly successful, inspiring friend? What can I possibly offer that she couldn’t find from another driven and respected colleague? Why should I bother when I already grapple with finding the energy and time to be an attentive wife and mother?

Certainly, I would do anything to help Katie. And I have to trust she asked me to edit this newsletter for a reason. But I’m also doing this as a way to tell my “dumb” brain to shut up and believe in me sometimes. This is an opportunity to embrace that I still have a talent for writing and editing, even if I don’t have an online portfolio or fancy CV; to trust that allowing my kiddo a little extra screen time does not make me “Worst Mom of the Year;” to be patient with myself as I navigate postpartum life after my son arrives; to love who I am and value my strengths in spite of my weaknesses.

I am human, after all.

This essay was first published on October, 2018, in the weekly newsletter, My Sweet Dumb Brain.

--

--

Rebecca Coates
My Sweet Dumb Brain

Vintage-wearing, baby-rearing, dog-obsessed, 30-something geek girl. Editor for My Sweet Dumb Brain. Writer on my own blogs occasionally. I'm also really tall.