Sailboat Snoozer

Joshua Wright
My Terrible Photographs
Sent as a

Newsletter

1 min readMay 12, 2016
Sailboat in San Diego on the ZZzzzzzzz…..

Walking around Mission Bay in San Diego, I grabbed this shot of a sailboat.

Technically, it’s an OK photo. ISO 100, 70mm focal distance, f/6.3 (could have been narrower for more depth), 1/640 sec shutter.

It’s just boring.

I was trying to capture foreground, middle, and background, but the foreground is too shallow, and the sky isn’t interesting. The sailboat is nice, but I forgot about the rule of thirds, and the water is locked in place, not conveying any sense of motion (a longer shutter was really needed here).

The develop preset I used in Lightroom gave the original a little more interest, but composition is what fails this photo. It’s a snapshot, not the quality photograph I wanted to capture.

-Josh

--

--