Reflections on Prototype: Looks Like Feels Like

My key takeaway from feedback on my prototype presentation is that I showed and worked on a lot of stuff and now it is time to cut down.

Paula Daneze
Local Biz Collective
2 min readMar 27, 2019

--

Local Biz Collective Toolkit (cover, introduction, how it works, and workshop activities)

As our guest critic and former professor Gary Chou said to our class this past Monday:

We needed to work on all complexity to find simplicity.

My next step is finding the most appealing and valuable aspects of my thesis project and tell this story.

Another takeaway is that when I’m presenting, I need to explain my design decisions behind each feature of the prototype based on my research insights, as opposed to doing a walkthrough of how it works.

Website user flow of “Start a new group” (see Invision prototype here: https://projects.invisionapp.com/d/main#/console/16951733/354012612/preview)
Website pages: Invite people to join your group, Schedule a workshop, Publish your idea, and Group Page.

Lastly, when presenting, I should show more of my hero’s user journey:

  • How he benefits from using the toolkit, what are the concrete results and how he uses it. Show images of him using the toolkit and interacting with other business owners.
  • Connect the problem with the solution. Remind my audience of why the user needs to use this toolkit to solve his businesses problems by showing tangible examples.
  • Simplify the presentation. Focus mostly on the toolkit and show less of the website. When showing the steps my user is taking, break them down as chapters in the presentation as opposed to showing the steps on the toolkit and website.

--

--

Paula Daneze
Local Biz Collective

Interaction Designer and MFA Interaction Design Student at the School of Visual Arts