MY THOUGHTS ABOUT: Gacha Games

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2021

Today, I wanna talk about games that have gacha, or revolve around gacha. I’ll be going in depth with this, but before that, I wanna introduce to you what gacha is in my own words. In some games, there would be a section where people have to spend some resources to get a character or material they want , and it is based on rates. Like, the chances of getting this character is 2.5%. It’s based on your luck to get it, like a toy vending machine or loot boxes. This is gacha.

Why are they in games, then? It’s for the players to spend real money on the games to support the company. It kinda started in Japan, and then it moved around the world, and today it is one of the most well-known genres of games there is.

Now, I do play some gacha games, and they go from being very kind in gacha to being a hard ass cruel asshole. I am going to show you three different gacha games that I play, and I will add the game’s name under the picture.

Love Live School Idol Festival All Stars
Azur Lane
Fairy Tail Goku Mahou Ranbu

As you can see, the most lenient game here is Azur Lane, with its highest rarity cards (or shipgirls, in AL’s case) having a quite high rate of 7%. On the other hand, Love Live School Idol Festival All Stars (LLSIFAS) have the lowest rate, with their UR cards having a 0.058% rate to appear in your pulls. That’s a really, really low rate, and you have to go to the temple to pray in order to get the card you want. I always have difficulty tryna get some featured cards from this game specifically, and it makes me a bit depressed.

Usually, for events, the featured characters will have an increased rate to be obtained. Azur Lane has 2% among the 7% for the Super Rare shipgirls, Fairy Tail has 7% for a 4 star character instead of the normal 5%, and for LLSIFAS has a 0.5% rate, which is still a very very small rate. That’s pretty ass.

For me, gacha games are really all about luck. To get the characters I want, I really need to pray that I could get them. It kinda drains me sometimes to see that I don’t get what I want. And yes, I’ve spent real money on this. Sometimes this could really make your day, while sometimes this could really break your day.

Imagine just playing every mode in the game, trying to obtain the in-game currency as fast as possible, and then spending it on gacha, only for you to get nothing. You’ll feel like the world is crushing you and tearing you apart. You’ll feel like your life is a mess, and that you have tons of bad RNG or luck.

However, if you DO get your desired character, you’ll feel like you’re on top of the world. The efforts you have done to gain the currency has not went down the drain. You’ll feel like the luckiest man alive. Honestly, this is also how I feel too. This kinda describes me that well.

Gacha games could be all fun and games until you get addicted to it you spend lots of real money on it. Spending some money on it is fine, but it becomes dangerous the moment you invest a lot into it. It’s like gambling your money away, and it makes an addiction go haywire. Don’t spend so much on a game, people. After all, you need to save money for a rainy day, as well as for the rest of your life. I think that gacha games can be fun overall, but we gotta watch out for the addiction and don’t spend so much money on it.

--

--

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT

Reviewing movies, games and other stuff. I give casual opinions on things too and say what I hate out loud.