MY THOUGHTS ABOUT: Super Mario Bros Movie 2022

What has this world come to?

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2021

--

What is this? What is this? What. Is. This.

Nintendo announced a few hours ago about a Super Mario Bros animated movie made with Illumination, the same studios that made…Despicable Me. I was so shocked and surprised. Well, at least it isn’t live-action like that 1993 disaster.

But Chris Pratt as Mario? CHRIS PRATT AS MARIO? Where did that decision come from? Is this just some random thought that came up in the casting director’s mind or is this actually planned out? I just can’t imagine him voicing this Italian plumber. How would he even sound like? Man, they even got the original Mario voice actor here, so why didn’t they just use him instead?! I guess they just wanted to experiment it out. Hopefully it all turns out good, but I don’t have a good feeling about this.

Jack Black as Bowser though. I think that’s a pretty good decision. I could really imagine him voicing Bowser. Also, Keegan Michael Key as Toad should be fun to watch. Keegan is a comedian, so Toad should be interesting.

That brings me to my next point. Seth Rogen…as Donkey Kong…Seth Rogen…Donkey Kong…Repeat that for yourself…Seth Rogen…Donkey Kong…I have no idea what went through the casting director’s mind when they actually made a choice to make Seth voice DK. What even is this? Did they just put everyone’s names in a box and then just pick a piece of paper to decide who voices who? If that’s so, please add my name inside. I’d like to be a possible candidate. I would do a very good impression of Donkey Kong.

HOO HOO HEE HEE HAH HAH HAH BANANA KONG KONG. There. That’s good, ain’t it? Remember to call me by my number, 1800-WHAT-THE-FUCK.

Well, I guess this is why this became a meme. Nobody expected Chris Pratt to voice Mario, or Seth Rogen to be Donkey Kong. Like how is this considered something that makes sense? Maybe it’ll be a bad or good decision, but it’s so sudden and random it kinda shocked the whole world. Oh well, let’s wait for the film to come out I guess. Hopefully it’s good. That’s all. Thank you for reading.

--

--

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT

Reviewing movies, games and other stuff. I give casual opinions on things too and say what I hate out loud.