MY THOUGHTS ABOUT: Winnie The Pooh: Blood And Honey

We’re in for a ride

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2022

--

I’m back with this series after a year!

Well, I wasn’t really planning on continuing this series for a long time, but this news that was reported a few days ago caught my eye, and oh boy, this sure is very…astounding, to say the least.

I’m going to make a short summary of the history and how we got to this.

Taken from Wikipedia

Remember Winnie The Pooh? This fictional anthropomorphic teddy bear is created by Alan Alexander Milne, also known simply as A.A. Milne, and drawn by Ernest Howard Shepard. It’s all about a bear that loves honey and his friends. A very wholesome series…which then got bought by Stephen Slesinger in 1930, then his wife Shirley and A.A.’s wife licensed rights to Walt Disney from 1966 to 2021.

At the end of 2021, the US rights expired, and Winnie The Pooh became public domain for everyone. I don’t know much about rights, but yeah. Then, on May 26 2022, my mans, our unsung brave hero, the one and only savior of the Earth, Rhys Frake-Wakefield, decided he’d tease a movie about Winnie The Pooh, named Winnie The Pooh: Blood and Honey.

*cues in William Tell Overture*

You go from whoelsome Pooh…

To Pooh and his lovely friends…

From MTV

To Christopher Robin and Winnie The Pooh being best of friends

Then to A SCARY LOOKING MURDEROUS POOH WHO, ALONG WITH A CRAZED PIGLET, KILLED TIGGER AND EEYORE TO FEED THEMSELVES!

WHAT THE FLYING FUCK IS THIS ALL ABOUT? WHOSE GREAT IDEA IS IT TO TURN A WHOLESOME SERIES INTO A FUCKING MURDER RAMPAGE MOVIE?! WHY DOES THIS EVEN EXIST IN THE FIRST PLACE?!

This is unspeakably unbelievable. This is so god damn bizarre. Who would’ve thought, people have strange minds. I don’t even know what to expect from this. A horror Winnie The Pooh movie. The yellow teddy near we all got to know as friendly and lovely has turned into a murdering machine.

This is the reason why you don’t put franchises into public domain. There’ll be people who always find a way to fuck it up and turn it into something so horrendous. This movie is like creepypasta. Wait, no, I should correct my sentence. This is like adapting a creepypasta that some kid wrote back in 2006 into a film! Why would that be a good idea? Do you want to scar kids and adults alike who have this heavenly image of Pooh in their minds?!

I can’t wrap my head around this. Is this really creative inspiration? Any other direction could’ve been taken. Like the 2018 movie Christopher Robin, which was fantastic. It showed wholesome friendly Pooh with wholesome friendly friends and wholesome friendly Christopher Robin. It’s not dark. It’s not weird. Most importantly, it’s not FUCKING HORRIFYING!

I don’t know if I even want to watch this disturbing piece of shit. I’m not even mentally prepared for it. After all, I can’t, and I don’t want to, imagine Pooh being a maniac and a cold-blooded killer after all those years of associating him with kindness and friendliness. I’ll think about it.

--

--

HexagonCube
MY THOUGHTS ABOUT

Reviewing movies, games and other stuff. I give casual opinions on things too and say what I hate out loud.