Why This Sudden Trans-Kids Trend?

Where are all these transgender kids coming from, all of a sudden? I’ll tell you.

Cassie Brighter
My Trans Child

--

Some people are skeptical of this "new trend" of kids coming out as trans & non-binary at an early age. Why are there suddenly so many?

I'll tell you why. Because they're less afraid of you people.

Photo by Camille Minouflet

I suspected, at nine. I knew at eleven.
I fought against it at fifteen, sixteen.

By seventeen I knew I wouldn't change.

But I had also learned, because I had heard the word "Maricón" (Sissy) often enough, that I must hide, push down this female self - because nothing good came with that word.
Maricón was the most cutting insult.
Maricón meant my dignity was in jeopardy.
Maricón meant my social standing could be taken away. I could become a social pariah, an untouchable.
Maricón meant I'd be the butt of jokes, an object of ridicule, and in constant danger of sexual assault.
Maricón meant my father would be ashamed of me, would be disgusted by me. Might hurt me. Might disown me.
It meant I might lose my family and my home.
I KNEW all of this at eleven. Do you understand? As an eleven-year old child, I KNEW what was at stake.

--

--

Cassie Brighter
My Trans Child

Activist. Public speaker. Writer. Community Organizer. Mom. Creator & Host, Empowered Trans Woman Summit. Managing Editor, EmpoweredTransWoman.com