Black lives always matter, Right?

The dangerous game that media, politics, and Hollywood plays with race.

Shaun Banks
Unpopular Opinions

--

I remember the first time I heard the NWA anthem, “F#ck the Police” I was around 13 years old. I listened intently as Ice Cube spit out the first bars, “F the police coming straight from the underground, A young n@gga got it bad because I’m brown.”

I felt those words because I had seen all those civil rights videos by the age of thirteen, you know, the dogs, racist Alabama troopers, and fire hoses. So yea, in my mind, ok, f#ck the police.

The problem was my grandfather was a Deputy Sherriff, and he embodied everything I wanted to be as a young man. He was prominent, strong, respected, and a man of God. He taught me about God, integrity, and how to throw a fastball.

Growing up, I had friends who partook in the drug scene and the street life. I have seen many of them have issues with the police. But even at a young age, I knew these were the choices we made as young men.

Have I come across dirty and racist cops? Hell yeah. But for the most part, I have encountered way more good than bad.

The first time I had heard about Black Lives Matter, the organization was during the Michael Brown case, which came right after the Trayvon Martin trial. Both…

--

--

Shaun Banks
Unpopular Opinions

I am the father of six children, I acquired them after trading in all the hair from my head. I write to inspire, inform and invoke thoughts.Let’s do this!