Does Karma Come Back to All?

Kashish Gambhir
Unpopular Opinions
Published in
3 min readFeb 29, 2024

Real-life Instance Tells Us The Truth

Photo by Mor Shani on Unsplash

What is Karma?

Karma is very simple. Any and every action that we perform is Karma. It includes walking, running, reacting to someone or something, sleeping, or even choosing to not do anything is also a Karma.

Real-life Example Of Karma

Usually, we question the Lord, 'Why is so much wrong happening to me? I haven’t done anything!' At that moment, we forget which of our past actions have led us to this wrongdoing.

By the Lord’s grace, I had the opportunity to witness this intriguing set-up of cause-and-effect firsthand, not just once, but many times.

For instance, when I worked as an Executive Assistant to the Principal of a school in Punjab, my dad had not been well for quite a few years.

During this time, while my parents were in Delhi, my dad fell sick, and I couldn’t take a leave. Short of money, I couldn't pay my rent on time for the shared place. The girl sharing the space with me turned against me, influenced by someone (let’s call her M), intentionally pushing her to harm me.

Despite a well-wisher's warning, I never thought someone could stoop so low. M, also in the administration and IT department, wanted to control everyone, even the Principal.

I tried my best to protect them, but M exploited the opportunity when I couldn't pay the rent in full, creating drama and convincing the Principal to expel me without a chance to explain. She succeeded. Congratulations, M!

However, Karma was watching all of this. Just two months later, M played her biggest strategy during a visit to Delhi, announcing herself as the Principal. Karma struck back swiftly. M not only got expelled but also had to suffer, affecting her parents who had moved with her from Gujarat to Punjab. Now, thrown out of the school, she had to start anew in her hometown.

Karma always pays back, and for M, it came back with ten times the interest.

Aware of this, it's crucial not to create any Karma you don't want in your life.

Karma In Different Religions

Hindu scriptures like Goswami Tulsidas ji’s 'Karam Pradhan' emphasize the supremacy of Karma.

Christianity’s teaching that 'you are made in the image of God suggests you are the creator of your own life.

Sikhism states, 'Karni aapo aapni ke nedey ke door,' indicating that one’s karma either brings them closer to the source or away from it.

Who Does Karma Not Affect?

Well, as mentioned above via the teachings of the different holy scriptures, Karma is beyond a person’s religion. This is because Karma is connected to the soul(atma) of a person.

Therefore, it affects anybody and everybody irrespective of their backgrounds.

Karma not only affects the person who is directly involved in that karma but also the one who supports that karma into happening.

It also includes the ones who remain silent and thus automatically support the person doing wrong.

Remember, silence always means that you are supporting the oppressor and not the oppressed.

Just like in the great Hindu epic Mahabharata, those who remained silent while Draupadi was being disrobed in a court full of kings, were held equally responsible for the Karma of supporting the sin or being on the side of Kauravas.

In fact, the main teaching of the Bhagavad Gita (Hindu Holy Scripture) is that ‘it is your karma that binds you in this world and that keeps you in this cycle of birth and death’.

Join my email list by subscribing and get notifications for my spiritual and life articles whenever they’re published. Namaste.

P.S.

Now after reading this, if you’re concerned about past actions where you may have wronged somebody, there’s a solution to either reduce or eliminate upcoming karmic consequences.

And if you do want the solution, simply ask me and I will share. Though I believe that not many people in the world are interested in getting out of the karmic cycle or they simply don’t think about it ‘coz the world has given them so much to stress about.

--

--