My Unpopular Opinion on Varg Vikernes

Beyond His Objectionable Religious and Racial Views, Also His Conviction of Murder and Arson, He’s Worth Listening To

Michael Centrone
Unpopular Opinions

--

© M.C. | Varg Vikernes (“Umskiptar” promo 2012) | Burzum.org

Louis Cachet, A.K.A. Varg Vikernes, is widely regarded as being one of the most influential Norwegian Black Metal artists of all time. He’s been releasing music via his solo project, Burzum, since 1991.

Let me be clear, this is not a tribute article. I’m not condoning any of his disagreeable actions or statements. Even mentioning his name publicly online could be grounds for cancellation.

I’ve never met the man, nor have I had any contact with him whatsoever. Hell, I’m not even that big a fan of Burzum (to be honest, I dig the newer, more mellow and atmospheric albums).

If you’re unfamiliar with his checkered past, there are plenty of books, articles, and movies documenting it. Long story short, he was tried and convicted for the murder of Mayhem guitarist Euronymous, and for orchestrating a series of church burnings in Norway in 1994.

He was released on probation in 2009.

But there’s no denying his high level of intelligence, knowledge, and creativity. I’m choosing to focus on a few of his philosophies and perspectives about the world that I find to be…

--

--

Michael Centrone
Unpopular Opinions

Just another domesticated creature whose had their free-range capabilities systematically suppressed | Top Writer in Music