Nanosecondly, a definition:

Stephen Kirby
Unpopular Opinions
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2022

--

To focus on your life as a series of nanosecond-long living events . . .

. . and assessing how much life is actually going inside your corporeal form during every living nanosecond from that moment onward.

Wiki Commons — Images

Toward that end, I had been thinking vaguely about neurotransmitters, in the singular since I don’t know much about ions, and I got to thinking about how frequently neuronal network vesigates open through bilipid membranes into synaptic clefts, propel into the synaptic cleft a ‘’significant’’ number of Ions, most of which are gathered up by dendritic receptors on the other side of the synaptic cleft, and all during a ‘normal’ nanosecond of an individual’s life, specifically my life.

I wanted to practice focusing on living at what I call the ‘’Lepton Level’’, where I envisioned portions of my body working away at being alive at the subatomic level.

When I first started practicing ‘Envisioning Life at the Lepton Level’ I did not know what to expect, but after some time, a certain pattern revealed itself. My body was busy living the process of living. My body was busy squeezing electrically charged ions through vesigates into synaptic clefts, and then for these ions to continue into the receptors on the far side of the synaptic clefts, all this Life Action happening all over my body, to take care of all the functions that I had going on within my corporeal form, in that particular nanosecond, and in summary, those Action Potentials do not turn out to be minor in number for a humanoid life-form.

Like the immense number of stars within the Infinite Universe, revealing themselves to our collective human consciousness, first casting our sights towards the skies above, then vastly improved by Galileo’s telescope, through recent images from the James Webb Space Telescope, I came to realize that the number of Life Actions happening within me at any given nanosecond could easily match the number of stars you can see in the night sky with the aid of the James Hubble Space Telescope. Uncountable billions and billions of individual Life Actions happening within and without my corporeal form.

The immensity of the knowledge gained through this phenomenon was such that to whine and complain about the little issues in my little human life seemed absurdly pointless.

There was so much more Life Action happening within me for me to immediately perceive, in any given nanosecond, that I evolved to understand a larger ‘perceptive’ of my life,

nanosecond by nanosecondly.

And that is how I came up with the concept of Nanosecondly.

Pay more attention to your perception than you do to your perspective.

(S. Kirby 6–16–22)

And then practice, practice, practice until you feel you are good enough.

Kirby 12–03–22

p.s. I write because I think all I’ve got is a notion I’d like to share.

Use the link below to subscribe to Medium and access thousands of articles. You could become a writer yourself! And a piece of your membership fee goes to help writers. https://medium.com/@stephenkirby_78895/subscribe

Resources: hopefully, reasonable and logical streams of thinking that I write about.

--

--

Stephen Kirby
Unpopular Opinions

Rat-Racer ( Hamster-Wheeler ), until 64, then seeker of The Philosophy of Kirby, whatever that meant then. But I know better now . . . I think . . .