The Art of Being Cursed with the Ability of Empathy

Was it a blessing or a curse?

qistella
Unpopular Opinions
2 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Photo by Point Blanq on Unsplash

I’ve learned to let people treat me however they want, even if it’s not always kind. I’ve come to understand that maybe they’re struggling with something hard, and I never want to be the reason they don’t get up from bed, feeling lost and alone. Maybe they’re questioning their worth, or crying themselves to sleep at night, or waking up in tears. I don’t want to be the reason for their pain.

I’ve been cursed with the weight of empathy, a gift that feels more like a curse. I’m forced to walk in the shoes of others, to feel their pain, their joy, and their sorrow. It’s a burden I’ve learned to carry, but one that often feels like a crushing weight.

I’ve seen the worst of humanity, and it’s left me with scars that won’t heal. I’ve watched as my loved ones have suffered, and my heart has ached with every tear, every cry, and every whispered prayer. I’ve felt the weight of their grief, their loss, and their despair.

But I’ve also seen the beauty of humanity, the kindness, the compassion, and the love. I’ve witnessed strangers become friends, and friends become family. I’ve felt the warmth of human connection, and it’s given me hope.

And yet, with every connection comes a price. I’m forced to carry the weight of others’ emotions, to feel their joy and their pain as if it were my own. It’s exhausting, overwhelming, and often leaves me feeling drained and depleted.

But what choice do I have? I’m cursed with empathy, and it’s a part of who I am. I can’t turn it off, nor would I want to.

It’s time to flip the script and make self-care a priority. I know it sounds selfish. But trust me, it’s not. When we take care of ourselves, we’re not being selfish; we’re being realistic. We’re acknowledging that our own emotional tank isn’t infinite and that we need to refill it regularly to be present and compassionate for others.

In the midst of all this, I’ve come to realize that my empathy is not a curse. It’s a gift. It’s a reminder that I’m alive, that I’m capable of feeling deeply, of loving fiercely. It’s what makes me human.

And so I choose to wear my heart on my sleeve, to let people see the depths of my emotions. I know it’s not always easy, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. This gift of empathy is what makes me feel most alive. Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise.

I’m not just a person who feels things; I’m a person who feels everything. And that’s what makes me whole.

--

--