Stephen Kirby
Unpopular Opinions
Published in
4 min readJul 5, 2022

--

This whole One God thing,

it’s boring, right?

I mean, what do you think? What, We’re going to ask you to join a Cult?

Bwaahaha . . . Cult is four letters too long for what We have in mind for you. Go ahead, think about that for too long.

You think We want you, and all your ‘friends’ to start coming to Meetin’s?

Sheesh . . . Save your expensive gas, and your blather. We don’t have a meetin’ place at all, much less in your town. Go find a forest instead.

Or help out a couple of nights a week in the Food Kitchen.

Whaaat . . . And get your ‘metaphorically dirty’ mitts on what somebody else thinks is clean food? We think not. Besides, no meeting house, no kitchen . . . That was tooooo easy.

Maybe your little ’not-a-cult’ wants me, and my ‘friends’, to buy a monthly Newsletter or a big, thick Self-Help Book. Maybe that’s the thing you’re sellin’ here?

Omanomanoman . . . Now you’re just out there thinking up stuff, so that you won’t have to read any more of this article, but you don’t because you at least want to find out what we’re sellin’, right?

But wait, one last question crosses your mind:

You want me to just straightaway give you Money?

Is that it?

Some kind of monthly or yearly Tithe?

Maybe an Endowment? No muss, no fuss, no accountability?

Do you think I’m crazy?

Why would I do that?

What in God’s Right Mind would make you think that I could be at all interested or compelled to do that?

(Breathe)

So, you say to yourself; no Cult, no Meetin’s, no Food Kitchen, no Newsletter, no Self-Help Book, no Money, no Tithe, no Endowment… What must We be sellin’?

So here’s the not-boring truth.

There is no We, there’s just me.

There is no Cult. One would have to be organized to pull off that charade. Besides, finding your way to the One God that you want to find for yourself is an intensely personal and uniquely individual experience.

There are no meetin’s, unless we’re talkin’ about a meetin’ of the minds. More on that later.

There is no Food Kitchen. If there was, I should stay away from it more frequently.

There is no Newsletter, no Self-Help Book. Those items create followers, not leaders. The world’s got too many followers already.

No Money. No Tithe. No Endowment. Nope. None of that.

I think all I’ve got is a notion I’d like to share . . .

The more We secularize the description of how an individual gets connected to the One God,

the faster an individual will get connected to the One God on their own.

It is the best when an individual gets to their One God on their own, because the experience is uniquely transformative, uniquely personal.

In consequence that individual could have, would have, a more peaceful, meaningful life, for themselves and a coterie of people around them.

A secondary consequence is the world could be, would be, a more peaceful place.

I happen to look at the world being a more peaceful place as the consequence, because of the ‘’butterfly effect’’, multiplied by hundreds of thousands of humans simultaneously knowing they are connected to the One God on their own, and also knowing they are all together simultaneously.

Go find a Forest, participate in some Forest Bathing, and then maybe we’ll have a meeting of the minds.

Wattaya think . . .

I think all I’ve got is a notion I’d like to share . . . Oh, I just did . . . share it, that is . . .

Here’s a little axiom I typed up;

Pay more attention to your perceptive than you do to your perspective.

S. Kirby 6–16–22

Perceptive is 100% true data received by your senses, that becomes less-than-true when filtered through your ‘culturally-derived’ perspective.

Kirby 7–2–22

p.s. I write because I think all I’ve got is a notion I’d like to share.

p.p.s Hope this wasn’t boring . . .

Use the link below to subscribe to Medium and have access to thousands of articles. You could become a writer yourself! And a piece of your membership fee goes to help writers.

https://medium.com/@stephenkirby_78895/subscribe

Resources:

Secularize’

https://www.dictionary.com/browse/secularize

Butterfly Effect;

https://plato.stanford.edu/search/search?query=Butterfly+effect

Forest bathing;

https://thrive.kaiserpermanente.org/thrive-together/live-well/forest-bathing-try

Images;

Wiki Commons/Images

--

--

Stephen Kirby
Unpopular Opinions

Rat-Racer ( Hamster-Wheeler ), until 64, then seeker of The Philosophy of Kirby, whatever that meant then. But I know better now . . . I think . . .