Thought pills: A father and A friend

Nancy Mutisya
Unpopular Opinions
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2023
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

🎶“My hope and firm foundation, He’ll never let me down”🎶

I have always believed in God and His power. Not just because that’s what my parents passed to me but more because of the powerful impact my relationship with Him has on my mind and spirit.

“All my life you’ve been faithful”

Humans, we are so blessed to have the opportunity to speak to Him directly at anytime anywhere. As a child, spirituality was not something relatable. All I knew was going to Sunday school to learn about God from the Bible. They taught us that the best way to talk to Him was through praying. And that’s okay, the teachings were more aligned with the religious aspect.

They didn’t teach us spirituality. Now as an adult, I have to discover my spirituality in God for myself. It’s not just about going to church, singing amazing songs, and then leaving only to come back after 6 days to pick up where we left off. It’s deeper than that.

My relationship with God is more than the religious practices. It’s me talking to Him when I’m walking to school. It’s me telling Him how my day was in the evening in my room. It’s me asking Him what He thinks about my project. It’s me telling Him what I want to accomplish. It’s me reading the Bible and asking Him to reveal to me the hidden pearls of wisdom in the book that are usually overlooked.

You see this where I draw the line between religion and spirituality. Religion assumes a very formal way of approaching God. It assumes a transactional type of interaction where we go to God with the hopes of gaining something in return.

On the other hand, spirituality is involving Him in every second of our lives. It’s talking to Him every time everywhere because He’s always listening. It is me going to Him not because of what He does but who He is.

“I’ll never be more loved than I am right now”.

That’s what the song Jireh by elevation worship is all about. He is enough. All I need is Him not what comes because of Him. And I know that I will always have enough because He is enough.

“I don’t have to prove anything, there’s room at His table for me”

There is a level of peace and clarity that only comes from having a relationship with God. It opens up your mind to the beauty of life. It gives you resilience that is immeasurable. It frees your heart from the grip of life. It brings a new sense of being, and a purpose to live for.

His power surpasses human understanding.

--

--

Nancy Mutisya
Unpopular Opinions

Turning thoughts, likes, ideas, and much more into stories.