When You Go on a Rant and the Comments Are All Positive

It doesn’t mean you’re right. In fact, it may mean something worse than being wrong.

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
Unpopular Opinions
Published in
3 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Close up of man yelling
Photo by Dmitry Vechorko on Unsplash

Some of my favorite authors are not shy about sharing their opinions. I love seeing someone’s honest feelings because I don’t wonder why they’re writing.

When people write about deeply held beliefs, they are compelled to write. It’s bursting out of them.

Do some writers exaggerate just a bit? Do they give free rein to their feelings, allowing themselves to get frothy? Surely. They do this in part to attract attention — nothing like calling someone an idiot or cursing to stop the ceaseless scrolling.

But I don’t blame them for their exaggeration. I appreciate a person showing me their feelings just like I do an ice cream truck playing its merry song or a poisonous snake advertising its toxicity from afar.

Ice cream truck
Photo by Alexey Taktarov on Unsplash

There Are Two Kinds of Controversial Articles

Some articles raise controversial topics in a way that invites discussion. The author often has a view, sometimes a firm one. But they…

--

--

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
Unpopular Opinions

Mechanic of the human soul. I channel Seneca and Machiavelli at predictable intervals (now weekly)