How to Format Code for the UoPeople Discussion Forums

Tips for your Discussion Forums Assignment

Estefania CN
My UoPeople CS Journey
2 min readAug 18, 2019

--

👋 Welcome!

Hi! In this short article, you will learn how you can format your code to make it look really nice in your discussion forums assignment.

When you start learning about computer science and programming, you start learning that the format of your code is very important for presentation and style purposes, and in some programming languages like Python, it is required for proper functionality. Indentation (spaces before a line) is key in programming languages like Python.

This is why preserving the format of your code in your Discussion Forums post is critical to submit a correct assignment. Let’s see how you can do this! ☀️

💻 Text Editor

1️⃣ Step 1: Copy-Paste Your Code to the Text Editor

It is important that you copy/paste directly from a code editor or IDE, not from a text editor like Word. I have noticed that copying from a text editor results in changed code indentation.

2️⃣ Step 2: Select the Code

3️⃣ Step 3: Choose the Pre-Formatted Option

4️⃣ Step 4: Final Results

💡 Note: Your can also add color to your code to simulate syntax highlighting, but you will need to do this manually.

Now you can format your code appropriately. 👍

✨ Good Luck!

I really hope that you liked my article. Follow my Medium Publication My UoPeople CS Journey to read about my experience during the degree🎓.

I wish you much success during your UoPeople journey! Your claps 👏 are really appreciated.

--

--