Thriving In A Job That Doesn’t Seem To Fit Your Personality

Emily Kassmeier
My User Guide
Published in
6 min readMar 10, 2020

As a self-proclaimed introvert navigating the professional world after graduation, I thought my ideal job would be one involving minimal interaction with others. Surprisingly, my first job after college actually ended up being the opposite. I ended up in a client-facing position, where I spent my workdays emailing clients, talking with clients on the phone, meeting with clients in person, and checking in with my team members in person or on Slack. Our team also worked in an open-concept office area, where at any moment my boss or coworkers could walk up to my desk and start a conversation, or a local client could walk in the door.

All of that added together, I left work most days feeling totally drained. I really enjoyed the wonderful team I worked with, but after a while I couldn’t shake this deep sense that it just wasn’t a good fit for me. At the time, I chalked this feeling up to the fact that I was an introvert stuck in an extrovert’s job. I felt like I didn’t belong. I couldn’t fit a square peg into a round hole and told myself I needed to stop trying.

After moving on from that job, I found myself navigating the world of remote work. And funny enough, I started another people-oriented position handling customer support for Zaengle. Was it just that I apparently didn’t learn my lesson the first time around? No, instead I’ve found a balance that works better for me, so I not only enjoy my work, but also don’t feel my social energy is depleted every day by 5 o’clock. It’s convinced me that an introvert can survive, and even thrive, in an extroverted job, and an extrovert can do the same in an introverted job. Is it for everyone? Nope. But if you find yourself in a situation like this, read on.

Introverts in extroverted jobs

Remember your introversion isn’t a limitation

It may feel at times like your introversion is a disadvantage at work, especially if you find yourself surrounded by extroverts. But what sets you apart can actually work to your benefit and help create a well-rounded workplace.

As an introvert, you might find you have unique strengths that are different from those of your outgoing colleagues. For example, you might be a great listener and have a keen memory for small details from past conversations, both of which can be a tremendous help when building connections with customers. Or perhaps you may feel uncomfortable ‘winging it’ when it comes to meetings or presentations, so you spend a lot of time researching, planning, and practicing beforehand to prepare. To your extroverted team members, it may seem unnecessary, but that level of preparation can certainly work to keep meetings on track with a clear agenda, and help you be ready for any potential questions that may come up during a presentation.

Consider working remotely

For me, working from home made a huge difference. My home office is quiet and has fewer distractions, which I’ve found is much better for my focus. I can get things done without being interrupted by side conversations between my coworkers sitting nearby, someone stopping by my desk to chat on their way to grab a coffee refill, or occasional spur-of-the-moment team meetings. Instead, I feel like I have a little bit more control over when I interact with others at work. I can check my Slack messages after I finish typing out an important thought in that email I was just about to send, rather than being interrupted right in the middle. Meetings are often scheduled in advance, so I can better plan out my days and feel prepared going into them. Using my social energy in spurts like this helps me end a workday without feeling drained.

Find ways to recharge

No matter where you work from, it’s important to find ways to re-energize yourself. For introverts, this usually means spending time alone or with a small group of your closest people. Maybe for you, it could be going for a walk alone, reading a book, keeping a journal, or meeting a friend for dinner. Whatever activities you find recharge you the most, be sure to carve out space in your weekly schedule to make time for them. You’ll thank yourself later.

Extroverts in introverted jobs

Interact with your team regularly

Connecting with your team members often is a great way to re-energize socially during the workday. Look for opportunities to join team meetings or start conversations in a Slack channel, and mix up the discussions between work-related subjects and more light-hearted topics. If you work remotely, spin up video calls regularly for some face-to-face interaction. Getting chatty with your coworkers daily can help you stay connected as a team, and can fend off those feelings of isolation.

Make connections outside of work

I think it’s important for everyone to have a life outside of work, but especially if you feel like you’re not getting enough social interaction throughout the workday. Make frequent plans to spend time with family and friends. Have a standing night (or two, or three) each week to grab dinner or try out a new recipe with a group of people. Find a hobby or join an organization in your community that gives you a chance to meet others with similar interests. Having some sort of social event to look forward to at the end of your day can make your time spent working alone more satisfying.

Making new connections can apply to your professional life too. If you work remotely, try out a coworking space or work from a coffee shop once in a while to meet new people. Look for networking events in your area that will give you a chance to be around others with jobs in a similar industry. Finding people besides your team members who understand your work can give you an opportunity to share your experiences and learn from one another.

Find your strengths

Figure out what you’re good at, then look for opportunities in your workplace to put those things into action, with other people. Get involved in group projects that will not only give you a chance to work on something you enjoy, but also let you collaborate with your coworkers often. Look for ways you could volunteer for new initiatives that would give you more reason to interact with others. Offer to run a meeting, spearhead a new project, represent the company at an upcoming conference, or drop by to visit with clients. Whatever your strengths, find reasons to use them in a way that will bring you closer to others.

No matter where you lie on the introvert / extrovert scale…

At times it can be hard to feel fulfilled in a job that, upon first glance, doesn’t seem to fit your personality type. However, when we find ourselves in a situation like this, maybe what we need most of all is a changed mindset. Instead of trying to make it work in spite of who we are, maybe what we should be focusing on is making it work because of who we are. Our personality differences are what allow us to bring our own unique strengths to the table, and a well-balanced team needs people of all types to function properly. Perhaps simply adjusting how we view our situation can help us make the most of where we’re at and find more satisfaction in our daily work.

--

--

Emily Kassmeier
My User Guide

Marketing + customer support @zaengle. Bookworm. Dog Lover. Houseplant enthusiast.