Day 62: Traveling With a Three-Night Minimum Stay Guideline

Robert Gibb
My Van Year
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2022

The United States is a large country with many historic places and scenic lands. When my home is a van, it’s tempting to explore as many of these landmarks as possible. This temptation arises when I start feeling comfortable in an area. It happened yesterday before sunset: my second full day here. I thought I had discovered all there was to this area in Georgia and thought it was time to go somewhere else.

I felt comfortable at this Georgia WMA area on the second evening as Chester pranced about. Then I thought of what other WMA areas I could travel to.

But finding a free and spacious place like this takes time: Google research, land management map investigation, and satellite viewing. And there’s a chance when you get there that it won’t be clean, open, and surrounded by beautiful and walkable land. Upon reflecting (less thinking) I felt that staying here two more nights instead of one would be best: a total of three.

This three-night minimum guideline applies to previous spots I stayed at and had a pleasurable time. It applies to Savannah where I stayed four nights, the Hipcamps I stayed at in Florida for five nights during productive workweeks, and other places like the Osceola State Forest. It also applies to my most recent experiences on more remote WMA land in Georgia.

It’s important to remember that I was on vacation from work during my time in Georgia and the Osceola State Forest. Staying three nights or longer on land like this with spotty internet connectivity that does reliably support video calls is something I do not want to repeat again. This made for lots of drives to Starbucks, van hustling, and work-related stress during my free stay at the Green Swamp in Florida.

It’s also important to remember that I was traveling with a friend on remote land in Georgia and the state forest. Without a friend, I may have visited these places for a night or two and traveled around more. Traveling with a friend or being around fellow van lifers makes me more patient in places since there are like-minded people to interact with. I do like having the option to connect with others. This is why I still appreciate suburbs and cities and use community-based van travel apps.

So the three-night minimum is a loose guideline. It might turn to one night or two nights when traveling solo on a weekend, setting out to see multiple landmarks, or arriving at a place that doesn’t feel good. Or it might turn to four or five nights during the work week.

In any case, the goal is to not rush and chase ideas of something better. Enjoy where you’re at now. Walk or bike in all directions. Check out nearby towns and landmarks. Give yourself space to experience the area, the nature that surrounds, and others nearby. Read. Write. Play with your doggie. The van and other places are not going anywhere.

I was able to experience more places on this morning’s walk on Georgia WMA land surrounding a perfect campsite by choosing to travel less frequently.

--

--