My View from the Prado

Let’s get acquainted.

Arnesia Young
My View from the Prado
3 min readJul 22, 2019

--

Okay, I’ll admit it. . . I’m an art history major. Contrary to popular belief (at least in my experience), that does not mean I’m studying to become an artist. Countless have been the times that I’ve anticipated the confused reaction to that declaration, and my favorite response is the classic, “Well what are you going to do with that?” Truth be told, I just don’t know yet. I hope to work in museums or in some other capacity that allows me to use art to enrich the community. However, I didn’t choose art history because I thought it would guarantee me a job. (And does any major really guarantee you a job these days?) I study art history because I love it. But more than that, I study it because I love the way that it teaches me to think, to analyze, to understand and even to empathize. In studying it, I gain more than simply a general understanding of the history of art. I gain an informed world view, an understanding of human nature and thought, and a deeper sense of connection with the past.

Even before graduating from college, studying art history has brought me many amazing opportunities. In fact, it is what got me here to the Prado Museum this summer. I was honored to be placed as an intern in their education department for a period of twelve weeks. And even though I’ve already been here for about a month, I can still hardly believe I get to work at one of the most prestigious art museums in the world. Even more exciting is the fact that I’m here during the celebration of the museum’s 200th anniversary.

On the occasion of the Prado Museum’s Bicentennial, it seems appropriate to reflect upon its impact in today’s society. It is a museum of consequence both nationally and internationally, with millions of visitors from all over the world each year. It also lays claim to masterpieces like Diego Velázquez’s Las Meninas, Rogier van der Weyden’s Descent from the Cross, and Goya’s The Third of May 1808 in Madrid. Of the millions of visitors who make their way to the Prado, it is most likely that the majority enter the Prado for only a limited amount of time. And they are probably there mainly to see the most famous masterpieces of the collection. But could there be more to the Prado?

A museum with over 200 years of history is more than just a building with a few notable paintings. It is more than just a place to spend an afternoon so that you can check it off of your sightseeing list. The Prado has a heart and a soul, and each of the works that it houses tells a story. It is a living organism that is continually evolving, and its visitors are part of what gives it that life.

During this series of posts, I will be recounting some of my own experiences at the Prado in an effort to highlight just a few of the many possibilities that the museum can offer its visitors. So, allow me to properly introduce myself: my name is Necie, and I’ll be your guide throughout this series. Follow me and come get a bit better acquainted with Prado beyond just the highlights of its collection. Welcome to My View from the Prado.

--

--