FAQs about my work.

Barbara Bombachini
My Photo Stories
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2017

Very important.

Don’t ever think that your question is foolish, believe me. I hope we can cover here even the questions you haven’t considered!

Shooting events? Yes, all kinds of events.

So, don’t be shy, send me an email and I’ll be pleased to answer!

Here are some common questions I receive:

Do you shoot birthday parties?

Yes. Besides weddings, engagement sessions, families, babies or pregnant mommies, I also shoot parties, anniversaries and events in general! You can call me a “family photographer”!

How much do you charge?

Not a simple question: imagine that somebody wants to buy a cake from you. Would it be a huge difference if it’s a cake for 5 or for 500 people, wouldn’t it? It’s the same for photos. I need to know at least some information in advance to calculate my expenses, for example: How many people will be attending your event? How many hours will it take? Where’s the event? Will I need to move from one location to another? How far is it? Would you need a second photographer?
And remember: for every hour shooting, it’ll require me at least 4 hours post-producing the photos. And I usually have expenses during that time as well.

Are your images post-produced?

Yes. All my images are reviewed, carefully selected and post-produced by myself as a handcrafted gift.
I’m willing to deliver my best in what I do and this is what I like to offer.
Even though, I don’t do any major change — I don’t usually remove or add things to photos, I just fine tune them.
In my work, post producing stands for: color correction, crops and small adjustments in contrast, highlights, saturation, and so on.

Do you work alone?

Yes and no, depends on what you need. I usually shoot alone, but for big or high demanding events, I’ll rely on a second photographer, usually my husband, that I can trust 100% and that can understand me within a look.

What happens if you, by some reason, cannot attend or even die, before the event?

Well, this is a serious concern! This might happen! Who will say that it won’t? That’s why having a contract it’s a good idea.
But if by some reason something happen to me, you’ll have two options: have your money back or have my husband or partner photographer shooting for you. I swear that if I’m not dead, I’ll show up to assure that everything is fine! (Only if I’m not dead, I swear …Hehe)

Do you make albums?

I love albums! Printed material is awesome and the images change when they are on paper. Though, I’ll still looking for partners and suppliers.
Ask me that again if there’s no updated info on the blog!

Will you give me all the material?

I always deliver all the material shot, 100% of the usable photos, post-produced and selected. What do I mean by usable photos? Well, even being a professional photographer sometimes people blink, sometimes it’s a repeated photo, or focus is not 100%, etc. Besides that, all the photos will be sent to you.

Me, shooting.

How do you deliver the pictures?

There’s usually two ways: DVD medias or pendrives. The photos are delivered in two folders, one for the high resolution made for print and the other for the low resolution for web use.
Soon I’ll have partners and suppliers for them and I’ll share more with you.
For companies and agencies, I generally send files through a downloadable FTP link — let me know if this is your preferred choice.

Do you provide the raw images?

No, and no. Sorry. If there’s a way to explain that it would be: remember when you were a child and you were carefully coloring a colour book and somebody just came up to “play with you” and ended up messing with your drawing? It’s more or less like that.
When you are making photos you already have in mind how they will end up being. You create the images on your mind first and by the time you press the button, you already know if you can recover some part, if you have enough room for a crop or not, etc. I can be really frustrating to see an unfinished part of your work in the hands of others. In the end, selecting and post producing the photos is part of my job!

As far as more questions come up, I’ll update the post!

Have a question that’s not here? Send me an email!

It’s a pleasure to have you here! :)

--

--