Five More Amazing Words You Likely Never Knew

They caught me off-guard as well

Christopher Laine
My Writer’s Life
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2023

--

Here we go again. Five more amazing words which you can casually toss into your daily vernacular, hopefully freaking out your friends and family.

Compatibilism

noun

the belief that free will and determinism are mutually compatible and that it is possible to believe in both without being logically inconsistent

My dedication to compatibilism means I can believe in free will and the fact that my free will has no bearing on the outcome, no matter how much free will I have.

Pergola

noun
1. an archway in a garden or park consisting of a framework covered with trained climbing or trailing plants.

Pergola

Palliative

adjective

  1. (of a treatment or medicine) relieving pain or alleviating a problem without dealing with the underlying cause

Your prescription of vodka martinis as a cure for Ellen’s anxiety is, at best, palliative.

--

--