Medium Partner Program just became a scam

How their so-called improvements have hacked my writer payment down to 1/4 of what it was

Christopher Laine
My Writer’s Life
Published in
4 min readSep 8, 2023

--

Medium revealed a wee while back that they were changing the way they monetise and reward their writers.

It was (like all things big business) pitched to we writers as a good thing, that they had heard our voices and were looking out for us. It all sounded so lovely and hand-holdey and kumbuya.

I read the post with the kind of mild interest one reads such things, that someone is trying to sell you on something but since you have a wee vested interest, you may as well read the post through. It reads like a lot of corporate spiel and touchy/feely guff one expects from a company, but it did have some good points about ditching AI content or content that is clickbait, so I figured great. Sounds good. Pay writers for writing real things.

Just today, my writer’s payment from Medium turned up. Holy freakin’ frijoles. Talk about getting sideswipped. No one is singing Kumbaya now. I definitely…

--

--