Winter holidays in Zurich

Elchin Asgarli
My Year In Zurich
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2017

I decided to stay in Zurich for Christmas and New Year, since I’m not planning to be here for the next winter holiday season. Zurich is truly beautiful during Christmas season: the city is decorated with many lights, and there are Christmas markets all around. Many shops are open on Sundays during all of December (not grocery stores unfortunately).

There are two main Christmas markets in the city: one at Bellevue, and one at Hauptbahnhof (main train station). The one in Bellevue is bigger, but it’s colder there, since it’s outside. If you prefer something cozier, visit the one in Hauptbahnhof.

Another cool thing about Christmas in Zurich is “Christmas Lights”. Bahnhofstrasse, and some other streets get decorated in many lights, giving a feeling of a night with many stars. It’s very beautiful! There’s also an opening ceremony for this, where they light them the first time. This year it coincided with Thanksgiving, so even though I was not in US, I still got some festive feeling on Thanksgiving.

Fireworks

After Zurichfest and Street Parade I was expecting huge fireworks for new years eve! It was quite good, but unfortunately the weather was foggy, so I couldn’t see much :( It was nevertheless a spectacular show!

--

--