How to Personalize Your Shopping List Under $20 for 2018

Danna Davis
My Beautiful Brown Life
6 min readJan 9, 2018
Image Credit:giphy.com

The Shocking Truth Most Retailers Don’t Want You to Know.

What are your favorites things? Some of us like to lavish in bath bombs, decadent chocolates, or creating a personal oasis. Sometimes, the best form of therapy is retail therapy, but what about shopping for what we truly need? Yep! I am talking about those moments when you are in the mall or department store and you purchased the essential items on your shopping list, but something else catches your eye. The bright side is you seized the moment and got what you wanted, but when reality kicks in, you are left saying “WHAT IN THE WORLD DID I DO?”

Sound familiar?

Our Reaction at the Cash Register

Image Credit:giphy.com

Ok, enough with the torture and reminiscing, let me clue you into my number one method for shopping on a budget. Personally, I believe in shopping for timeless pieces, either if its clothes, shoes, bags, accessories, or household items. So my destination for all of these items on my list is not Amazon, even though I LOVE IT! Not eBay, Ross for Less, or Walmart. It’s ETSY!!!! Etsy is my personal platform for all things handmade and I love that some of the items can be customized to suit your style. Since winter is upon us like whipped cream on hot cocoa, it’s time to crank out the extra winter gear, scarfs, and of course the infamous Yankee Candles.

However, what if I told you that you can make an average soy candle, smell just like a Yankee Candle without spending 20 dollars? Yes indeed, getting your money’s worth should be a priority, this is why most consumers are supporting small businesses on several merchant platforms, instead of the big brick and mortar stores. Just think, the hundreds you are spending could be invested in a timeless experience.

So, here is another alternative to Yankee Candles, without the high price tag.

THESE ARE THE CANDLES THAT I RECEIVED FROM THE RETRO ARMADILLO:

The candles sold in The Retro Armadillo mercantile are 100 percent handmade with you in mind and they even allow you to personalize each candle to your liking. I myself have received and personalized my own Retro Armadillo candles with warm toasty scents reminding me of the outdoors. Since it’s cold and windy out, why don’t you light some candles in your house too? But, WHAT! Before you decide to purchase please let me show you my first impressions of these candles. As a frugal shopper myself, I like to invest in a product that is in my budget, and the quality is top notch. Like I said before, you don’t want to be regretful, and left saying “WHAT IN THE WORLD DID I DO?” Now that we are on the same page, let’s get to the video!

This is my review tutorial and first impressions of the candles:

The candles in this video were provided by The Retro Armadillo. Below is a description of each candle and instructions for us. Shopping time!!

Fresh Cotton Soy Wax Melt Current Price $4.90, You Save $2.10 (30%)

Fresh Cotton Soy Wax Melt — $7.00 USD Via: etsy.com

Description via Retro Armadillo Etsy page: “The Retro Armadillo soy wax melts are hand-poured all-natural soy melts in a clamshell container. Each soy wax melt is created from 100 percent American-grown soybeans. These highly-scented soy wax melts are a safe way to fill your room with fragrance without the worry of a flame! Each package of melts is about two ounces of wax and comes with six cubes that easily pop out of their mold. If we do not have a scent listed that you are interested in, let us know and we can find a scent that fits you perfectly.** Melting Instructions **Pop out 1–2 cubes and place it on top of your warmer. As the wax melts, the fragrance is released throughout the room. You can continue to use these soy melts for up to ten hours per cube or until they lose their scent.”

*My Thoughts: The Fresh Cotton Mini Melts is very convenient and the small cubes can be placed in your candles to create more wax or candle burners. I specifically chose the fresh cotton scent, because it is a year-round scent and no matter the season change, the fresh cotton scent will never go out of style.

Mulled Cider & Chestnuts Soy Candle

CURRENT PRICE $7.00+, YOU SAVE $3.00 (30%)

MULLED CIDER & CHESTNUTS SOY CANDLE — $10.00 USD

VIA: ETSY.COM

Description via Retro Armadillo Etsy page: “The Retro Armadillo soy candles are hand-poured all-natural soy candles in an 8 oz and 13 oz glass mason jar. Each soy wax candle is created from 100 percent American grown soybeans. The Retro Armadillo uses cotton-braided wicks that are lead & zinc free that burn for 50+ hours. If we do not have a scent listed that you are interested in, let us know and we will do everything we can to find a scent that fits you perfectly.”

*My Thoughts: All throughout the holiday season, the mulled cider & chestnuts soy candle made every day feel like Christmas an Thanksgiving. The authentic bittersweet scent of mulled cider extends an exquisite aroma that gives off a hint of apple cinnamon with a little nuttiness from the chestnut. It sounds like I’m describing a dessert. Yummy!

Pumpkin Spice Soy Candle Current Price $7.00+, You save $3.00 (30%)

PUMPKIN SPICE SOY CANDLE — $10.00 USD

VIA: ETSY.COM

Description via Retro Armadillo Etsy page: “The Retro Armadillo soy candles are hand-poured all-natural soy candles in an 8 oz and 13 oz glass mason jar. Each soy wax candle is created from 100 percent American grown soybeans. The Retro Armadillo uses cotton braided wicks that are lead & zinc free that burn for 50+ hours. If we do not have a scent listed that you are interested in, let us know and we will do everything we can to find a scent that fits you perfectly.”

*My Thoughts: The Pumpkin Spice Soy Candle is simply delicious. This may sound terrible, but I’m going for it! Let’s say your in-laws are visiting and you know that cooking is not in your DNA. Just light the Pumpkin Spice Soy Candle and everyone will think you are a Parisian baker. This is a perfect candle that will make your home warm and festive in the winter and fall. P.S. If you want to light it up in the summer and spring do it.

Make yourself happy! Now quality has a seven dollar price tag attached to it, but it’s the experience that will be worth millions!The Retro Armadillo specializes in a variety of soy candles, so get jolly with aromas for the seasons. Visit: https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheRetroArmadillo Today!

YOU KNOW, THE GUYS MAY HAVE THEIR MAN CAVE BUT NOW YOU HAVE A WONDERLAND.

Join me on social media:

https://www.facebook.com/True-Vivant-Magazine-1135635899885947/

https://www.instagram.com/TrueVivantMagazine

https://twitter.com/TrueVivant/

My site: https://truevivant.com/

Clothing Boutique: http://bit.ly/2lwcf7c

XoXo,

Danna

--

--

Danna Davis
My Beautiful Brown Life

My name is Danna Davis. I am an Author, Video Creator and lover of people. Follow my journey to becoming healthy while writing about my adventures.