Amy Ratcliffe — Class of 1990

#MyBlackIsGold
#MyBlackIsGold
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2018

I am a white DePauw alum with 150 year family history at DePauw. As Quakers in Evansville, my grandparents taught me that our family roots went back to the Mayflower, that our history included the underground railroad, and that DePauw was our university. These are the roots of white privilege but they didn’t expect it to last. They worked for desegregation in Evansville and had faith in the path of history.

While I was at DePauw, the University began an effort toward ‘diversity’ and reached out to admit students of color. It wasn’t easy but it was a start. I shared a hall in Lucy with women of AKA. I learned about the Divine Nine and wondered when we see houses on par with Beta and Phi Psi. At that point, I expected that DePauw would move toward ‘integration’. That faith was the product of my white privilege. And, you are witnessing. It hasn’t happened.

When DePauw admits students of color or hires faculty of color, they must commit to full rights and privileges, to whatever is required to achieve a successful tenure. I am disgusted that DePauw hasn’t shepherded the community toward inclusivity. Race, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic differences must all be celebrated. Do we see real friendships across racial divisions? Do the Divine Nine have houses on campus? Do we have a frank discourse on race? Why aren’t we willing to let prospective students see messages to President McCoy challenging institutional racism? Why would I recommend DePauw to my black friends for their kids?

In 1990, DePauw faculty exposed me to feminist theory by Angela Davis, African American literature by Baldwin, Wright, Ellison, the poetry of Audre Lorde, and history by Paula Giddings. Why have we failed to reach the others on campus who carry their white privilege with such ignorance and naivete?

Don’t answer that last question, we could fill a tome with the answers and analysis. Let’s fix it. Fight the fight. It’s worth it.

--

--

#MyBlackIsGold
#MyBlackIsGold

Group of concerned DePauw alumni have created an alternative option to “DePauw Day” that will DIRECTLY support AAAS and bringing back the AAAS house at DePauw.